Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

McDATA Sphereon 4500 - no link on some clients

Only the orange FC cables that connect to our workstations are having this problem. My two MDCs and XRAIDs are connected via the Apple white FC cables and are working beautifully. The workstation cables are tested as good. All port settings in the fabric are the same. Any help would be greatly appriciated. My video editors are stuck working locally atm and are giving me the stinkeye.

External Moderator

Re: McDATA Sphereon 4500 - no link on some clients

Check Port License please.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor

where would I find that?

Sorry but I'm new to this switch and I didn't see anything in the user manual.

External Moderator

from command lince, "show.features" or from GUI, check if Flexport License is installed.

From GUI, i beliewe in Configure -> the select Port, youshould see if all Port are Active or no.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor

Flex Ports is Installed but in the list, just says 0

Screen shot 2012-06-15 at 2.05.53 PM.png

External Moderator

--->>>Flex Ports is Installed...

Wrong ! it is not installed.

0 = Zero,  mean not Flexport are installed, in such case you have just only the default 8 Port Active.

Flexport must show 8 or 16, then are Port Licensed.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor

ok, so what do I need to do to get more than 8 ports going?

External Moderator

Nothing.

McDATA Product are End of Life and End of Sales, you cannot longer purchase License, excepted is the Switch under Active Maintenance Contract.

Alternative is to buy next generation Switch e.g. Brocade 300, 5100, 5300, 6505, 6510 etc..

Sorry for that, but this is reality.

Since you have answer, please rate and Closed this Threads

Thanks you!

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor