Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-06-2015
Accepted Solution

Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

Hi

 

I have a client that has 2 DCX-4S , old ones and I need to migrate them to some other switches and that is just fine.

The issue is that it seems like I do not have access to one of the blades in this DCX, and in this blade there are important servers/storages patched.

 

A little explanation:

I have some admin password and I can login using it, but when I list switchshow, it shows only slots 3-6 for one DCX and slots 3-7 for the other (on first DCX, slot 7 has failed, so I pulled it out, because it had no ports used in it).

 

Anyways, I do not have hands on equpment, so can not connect on some console but have person in DC that can and share some kind of Team viewer, or something, so I can reset it somehow, but question is if it is possible, and how could that be that I do not have access to slot 2 and have access to other slots.

 

I've tried root user and password that customer uses for root account, but failed, so maybe this could resolve the issue, but do not know that either.

 

This switch is not under brocade support, so can not contact brocade to help me reset password.

 

Any idea how to get pass this and what caused it to be invisible using admin account access?

 

Thanks

 

Sasa

External Moderator
Posts: 4,857
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

sasam,

 

-->> Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

 

you wrote:

 

--->> I have some admin password and I can login using it...

 

continue with

 

-->>....but when I list switchshow, it shows only slots 3-6 for one DCX and slots 3-7 for the other (on first DCX, slot 7 has failed,....

 

since you credential are correct, apart of that the Port Blade no required any username or password, show as the Blade is defective disable or whatever.

 

--->>>...so I pulled it out, because it had no ports used in it

 

try with command "slotpoweroff 7" remove the blade, insert again and do "slotpoweron 7"

 

can you please post here the output from "slotshow -m" ?

 

 

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎05-26-2009

Re: Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

Maybe the ports of the missing blade belong to another logical switch?

Tried a  lscfg --show ?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-06-2015

Re: Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

[ Edited ]

HI there

 

To

 

Maybe I was a bit confusing.

 

Few months ago, I was in this DC for the first time and this blade was dead. This is jut one blade in slot 7 in one of the DCX. It had no ports connected, and after reinserting it for few times, it did not show any sign of life, so I guessed it was failed.

 

On the DCX that has switch in slot 7 here is output

 

:admin> slotshow -m

Slot Blade Type ID Model Name Status
--------------------------------------------------
1 UNKNOWN VACANT
2 SW BLADE 51 FC8-48 ENABLED
3 CORE BLADE 46 CR4S-8 ENABLED
4 CP BLADE 50 CP8 ENABLED
5 CP BLADE 50 CP8 ENABLED
6 CORE BLADE 46 CR4S-8 ENABLED
7 AP BLADE 24 FR4-18i ENABLED
8 UNKNOWN VACANT

 

It actualy does not matter for slot 7 I wan access to slot 2

 

 

To sebastian.thaele

 

you seem to be onto something here:

 

admin> lscfg --show

Created switches: 128(ds) 101(bs) 100
Slot 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
-------------------------------------------------------
Port
0 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
1 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
2 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
3 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
4 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
5 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
6 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
7 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
8 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
9 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
10 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
11 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
12 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
13 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
14 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
15 | | 100 | 128 | | | 128 | 128 | |
16 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
17 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
18 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
19 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
20 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
21 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
22 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
23 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
24 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
25 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
26 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
27 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
28 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
29 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
30 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
31 | | 100 | | | | | 128 | |
32 | | 100 | | | | | | |
33 | | 100 | | | | | | |
34 | | 100 | | | | | | |
35 | | 100 | | | | | | |
36 | | 100 | | | | | | |
37 | | 100 | | | | | | |
38 | | 100 | | | | | | |
39 | | 100 | | | | | | |
40 | | 100 | | | | | | |
41 | | 100 | | | | | | |
42 | | 100 | | | | | | |
43 | | 100 | | | | | | |
44 | | 100 | | | | | | |
45 | | 100 | | | | | | |
46 | | 100 | | | | | | |
47 | | 100 | | | | | | |

 

 

thanks

 

Sasa

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-06-2015

Re: Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

yes it is

 

I'll check it out but I believe this is the thing

 

Regards

 

S

Valued Contributor
Posts: 536
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Lost user/pass for one blade in DCX4S

setcontext 100; switchshow

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.