Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

We have two Dell R900 Servers with two QLogin 2460 Cards in them.  We are seeing alot of the following errors and also severe issues with Oracle OCFS Crashes on the servers.  I looked at the Switches today and see errors similar to below on all ports connected to the 2460 Cards, but not on the SAN Heads.  Can anyone suggest how to fix this?

Example1

Port Statistics - Port 27/SANSW01

In Bytes     13809.082072

Out Bytes   14035.99632

In Frames     558295590

Out Frames     84531413

Frames Busied     0

Frames Rejected     0

Total Errors     152516

Loss of Synch     1913.0

Example2

Port Statistics - Port 26/SANSW01

In Bytes     9453.844708

Out Bytes   10480.747784

In Frames     1938404509

Out Frames     726813137

Frames Busied     0

Frames Rejected     0

Total Errors     219983430

Loss of Synch     9550.0

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

This can be caused by many things bad cables, faulty SFP, wrong driver release, and much more.

---->>>....with two QLogin 2460 Cards in them.

---->>>.... and see errors similar to below on all ports connected to the 2460 Cards,.....

as a first, i would check the QLogic drivers

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

Lock the speed on both sides - switch port and hba for atleast one HBA and see if it makes any difference.

Also check if the errors are increasing by recording the error stats every few hours.

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-28-2009

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

Also clear your errors. Do you see the errors go up during a blade reboot?

Do the errors increment continually after your os is running?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

We applied the following MS Patch and so far the errors seem to have stopped and the servers have stayed up for two days...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/968675

Thanks for all your help!

-Morgan

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

morgan,

as I said in my previous post, and another tip in the new signed drivers is this patch bundled.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

We thought we had the problem solved and it came back...so much for optimism.  I will hard set the speeds next.  Anyone know how to set the HBAs in Windows to 2GB?

Thanks,

Morgan

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

In reply to:

'as I said in my previous post, and another tip in the new signed drivers is this patch bundled?'

The Patch was a Hotfix direct from Microsoft, so not bundled with a Driver Update.  It only updated Storeport.sys.  The QLA Drivers are Store Mini Port V9.1.7.16 / FW 4.03.01 / BIOS 2.02 - EMC Says these are fine for our SAN.

Thanks,

Morgan

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-25-2009

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

Sylvain...do you mean a Server or Switch Reboot?  The Server is a Rack Mounted R-900 Traditional Server.

'Also clear your errors. Do you see the errors go up during a blade reboot?'

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Loss of Syc & Total Errors VERY HIGH with QLA2460

Morgan,

--->>>The Patch was a Hotfix direct from Microsoft,

I know this is a Microsoft Patch.

--->>>....so not bundled with a Driver Update.

You're right, I have the drivers from colleague received by e-mail

He zipped the patch with the driver package, I thought that would be bundled native.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.