Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-11-2008

Interop visibility of targets

Hi!

I'm facing peculiar case:

OpenFabric, FOS 6.2.1 and MEOS 9.9x, brocades at core and meos at edge (+1 MEOS at core as principal), dual ISL between switches

If i move target port from meos edge to brocade core all initiators in edge will loose visibility to target (RHEL/Solaris/UX), host reboots/LIP's/zone refresh doesnt help (hosts in the same brocade switch have visbility);

workaround so far is to make fw upgrade on the edge switches (probably CTP reset is something to do with it) voilaa everything works until next time.

any hints, suggestions what to look for?

bregs

Kirkka

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Interop visibility of targets

If you move the port within 30 seconds, the visibility should be there. in AIX  may be you need rmdev and cfgmgr, but in RH, WIN & Solaris, the visibility should be there. FOS is copmpatible and priniciapl SW is not a concern. Tell me more what you want to do actually, as a core edge topology, you can move the port one at a time.

give me some more instruction, what you want to do actually.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-11-2008

Re: Interop visibility of targets

Im moving ports from old McDatas to new core Brocade:

a) all initiators (hosts) that are in McDatas loose visibility to storage port (ports) relocated to Brocade.

b) all initators that are in Brocade (or relocated) have visibility to storage ports in Brocade and McDatas.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Interop visibility of targets

are you getting Plogi & Flogi after moving the cable to Brocade SW port. will u be able  to see the WWNs.Interoperabilty is also a peculiar kind of thing.you may need rezoning on Brocade.

but after migrating can u check nodefind of the initiator: it should show

like :

user> nodefind VLDB02_HBA1
Local:
Type Pid    COS     PortName                NodeName                 SCR
N    01ac00;      3;50:01:43:80:02:9c:23:ac;50:01:43:80:02:9c:23:ad; 3
    FC4s: FCP
    NodeSymb: "HPAE311A FW:v4.00.27 DVR:v9.1.3.18"
    Fabric Port Name: 20:ac:00:05:1e:36:0c:c6
    Permanent Port Name: 50:01:43:80:02:9c:23:ac
    Device type: Physical Initiator
    Port Index: 172
    Share Area: No
    Device Shared in Other AD: No
    Redirect: No
    Aliases: VLDB02_HBA1
=================================================================

user> switchshow | grep 172
172    3   28   01ac00   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:02:9c:23:ac

whether it is showing F-port

check the fcping cmnd

and cfgactvshow

====================================================================

show here the sample how the Brocade SWs port looks like while you connect the cable

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Interop visibility of targets

kirkki,

are you in Interop-Mode2 ?

If yes, 3rd party target FLOGIN fails with a non-FC-standard value and cannot be seen in
name server. This happens when switch has port alpa also enabled in IM2 mode.

Host cannot see device due to device login failure to name server.

Workaround, Disable port alpa for device to login to nameserver: portcfgalpa <portnum> 0

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-11-2008

Re: Interop visibility of targets

OpenFabric as IM3


And i have previously tried the AL_PA offset configuration, it didnt help

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Interop visibility of targets

--->>>I'm facing peculiar case:

OpenFabric, FOS 6.2.1 and MEOS 9.9x,....

Sorry, i just see in the question you are in Open Fabric Mode.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.