Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

We have 4 ISL connections from Brocade 300 and McData 6140. All 4 ports are set hard to 2G on both sides. I am using EFCM vers 9.7.3 and in the master logs I keep seeing messages stating "ISL removed bewtween port 91 and port 15". The 2 300's are  indicated by the 2 arrow's in the pic below.

Has anyone seen this type of behavior before?

M6140 Domain ID is 1               --> Core where ALL zoning is done

M6140 Domain ID 15                 --> ISL’s to domain ID 1 director   FOS level  9.09.06 2

Brocade 300 in OCDC is 31  -->  ISL’d to 6140 with Domain ID 15  (this one shows up as “Subordinate”)    FOS level 6.4.0b

Brocade 300 in OCDC is 30  -->  ISL’d to  6140 with Domain ID 15 (this one shows up as “Principal”)         FOS level 6.4.0b

ISL.bmp

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

Make sure the DID and IM is correct set.

see this DOC in order to Set Domain ID

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

Thanks for the info. The switches look good for DID an IM. We are using IM2 (McData Fabric Mode) and the offset is 0x60 which appears to be correct.

Still don't understand why one switch shows "Subordinate" while the other 300 shows "Principal". I would think that both of the 300's should show up as "Subordinate".

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

--->>> and the offset is 0x60 which appears to be correct.

M6140 Domain ID is 1   --> Brocade DID 97

M6140 Domain ID is 15  --> Brocade DID 111

--->>> Still don't understand why one switch shows "Subordinate" while the other 300 shows "Principal".

The Switch in the Fabric with High WWN Number become as Principal, and with the lower WWN as Subordinate

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

So are you saying my Domain ID's need to change on the 300's from 30,31 to 97 & 111?

M6140 Domain ID is 1   --> Brocade DID 97

M6140 Domain ID is 15  --> Brocade DID 111

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

You have to set the DID respective the Interop-Mode in Brocade Switch.

i.e. If the McData by DID 1 is connected to Brocade in IM2, the Domain ID by Brocade must be Set as 97

1-31 are McData DID Address by Interop-Mode and cannot be used when the fabric is set in IM with Brocade Plattforms.

same by IM3.

For Details Referec the Wiki DOC link, and the Command Reference Manuals.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

I only have one Mcdata 6140 ISL'd to two Brocade 300's. The Domain ID for the McData 6140 is 15 and the two 300's are set to 30 & 31 respectively,

All 3 switches are set to IM2 (Mcdata Fabric Mode).   So, it appears that the Domain ID's are correct for this configuration.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-07-2009

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

I have seen this type of behavioer when EFCM would report ISLs going up and down but switch logs would sho no indications of ISLs bouncing.

There is know defect in EFCM 9.7.x that reports ISL state incorrectly. If Iwere you I would check the switch logs to see if in fact the ISLs are going up an down. You also should upgrade to the latest version of DCFM which has replaced EFCM.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: ISL's between M6140 and Brocade 300 getting removed??

Thanks. I will check that, but whats weird is I see the disk paths on the server going to a disabled state every time we run "vxdctl enable".

We use Veritas Storage Foundation to manage the disk on the host side. The controllers on the host side will get disabled and then they go back to being enabled after a few minutes. So we thought that the disk was getting removed becuase of the ISL messages.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.