Fibre Channel (SAN)

Contributor

ISL on different brands of switch

Hi Guys,

Im new to ISL, can you give some thoughts on is it possible to do an ISL between different switch brands? Like a brocade switches and Qlogic switches?

External Moderator

Re: ISL on different brands of switch

kaelo,

ISL beetwen Brocade and Qlogic is a long story.

some QLOGIC FW high than Version 6.x work only as InteropMode 0, see below or the Qlogic FW Readme.

Make sure that the Domain-ID by the Qlogic is correct set, Higher than 97, the Brocade must have Domain-ID beetwen 1 t0 31

example if the Brocade have:

Domain-ID 1 the Qlogic must be set to Domain-ID 97

by

Domain-ID 2 the Qlogic must be set to Domain-ID 98....and so on.

3. Interoperability

The QLogic Switch Interoperability Guide (www.qlogic.com/interopguide) provides all other

information regarding QLogic interoperability with Brocade, McDATA, and Cisco including:

l Configuration information

l Feature limitations in mixed configuration

l Known issues

The following interoperability modes were tested for the stated Brocade, McDATA, and Cisco switch

models and firmware versions:

l InteropMode set to Standard (FC-SW-2) supports Brocade, McDATA, and Cisco switches in

their "interop" or "Open" modes:

m Brocade Silkworm 3200/3800; Firmware tested: v3.2.0

m Brocade Silkworm 3900; Firmware tested: v5.1.0b, v5.1.0d

m Brocade Silkworm 3250, 200E, 4100; Firmware tested: v5.0.4e, v5.1.0d, v5.1.0

m Brocade M4400, M4700, M6140; Firmware tested: 9.00.00 build 76, 9.01.00.50

m Cisco MDS 9509, 9216, 9216i; Firmware tested: 2.1.2b, 2.1.2d, 3.0.2a

If the Qlog was set to InteropMode 1 by FW lower than 5.x and you have upgrade to 6.x, you must first Downgrade again to v5, change the Mode to 0 and then Upgrade to v6 or v7.

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
Contributor

Thanks for the response.

I read lot of docs and still I'm not sure if a SAN32B-3 (2005-32B) is compatible with SANBOX5200?