Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
goran_k
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-06-2009

ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

I'm getting incompatible operating mode error FABR-1001 on Brocade switch after I connected it to Mcdata 4700.

Both switches are configured in McData Open Fabric mode.

TIA

WSAN1:admin> switchshow
switchName:WSAN1
switchType:71.2
switchState:smileysurprised:nline  
switchMode:McDATA Open Fabric
switchRole:smileytongue:rincipal
switchDomain:116
switchId:fffc74
switchWwn:10:00:00:05:1e:a4:98:14
zoning:smileysurprised:N (GS_Master_SAN1)
switchBeacon:smileysurprised:FF

Area Port Media Speed State     Proto
=====================================
  0   0   id    N4   Online           E-Port  segmented,(Op Mode incompat)
  1   1   id    N4   Online           E-Port  segmented,(Op Mode incompat)

WSAN1:admin> portshow 0
portName: trest
portHealth: No Fabric Watch License

Authentication: None
portDisableReason: None
portCFlags: 0x1
portFlags: 0x10004103 PRESENT ACTIVE E_PORT G_PORT U_PORT SEGMENTED LOGIN LED
portType:  18.0
POD Port: Port is licensed
portState: 1Online  
portPhys:  6In_Sync 
portScn:   64Segmented Flow control mode 2
port generation number:    6
portId:    740000
portIfId:    43020017
portWwn:   20:00:00:05:1e:a4:98:14
portWwn of device(s) connected:

Distance:  normal
portSpeed: N4Gbps

LE domain: 0
FC Fastwrite: OFF
Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 1          Frjt:         0         
Unknown:           0          Loss_of_sync: 2          Fbsy:         0         
Lli:               15         Loss_of_sig:  3         
Proc_rqrd:         149        Protocol_err: 0         
Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 192       
Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0         
Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0         
Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0         
Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        2         
Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       2         
Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       0         
2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      2         
CMI_bus_err:       0        

Port part of other ADs: No

Root> show switch
State:                  Online
R_A_TOV:                100
E_D_TOV:                20
Preferred Domain ID:    10
Switch Priority:        Default
Rerouting Delay:        Disabled
Interop Mode:           Open Fabric 1.0
Active Domain ID:       10
World Wide Name:        10:00:08:00:88:E3:16:40
Insistent Domain ID:    Disabled
Domain RSCN:            Disabled
Zoning RSCN:            Enabled
FC Address Domain:      6a (hex)
Limited Fabric RSCN:    Disabled
Zone FlexPars:          Fabric Filtering
RSCN Zone Isolation:    Fabric Filtering
Safe Zoning:            Disabled
ISL FSPF Cost:          By Port Speed
Web Enabled:            Enabled
API Enabled:            Enabled

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,715
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

200 and 300, I can hear it any more......

Have both switch a compatible Firmware / Fabric OS ?

FABR-1001

Message

<timestamp>, , <sequence-number>,, WARNING, <system-name>, port <port

number>, <segmentation reason>.



Probable Cause Indicates that the specified switch port is isolated because of a segmentation resulting from

mismatched configuration parameters.

Recommended Action

Based on the segmentation reason displayed within the message, look for a possible mismatch of

relevant configuration parameters in the switches at both ends of the link.

Run the configure command to modify the appropriate switch parameters on both the local and

remote switch.

Severity WARNING



TechHelp24
Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,715
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

goran,

just a stupid question, is here any reason that the 4700 is not set as McDATA Native, and the Brocade is not set as IM=2 ?

Or is the McDATA connected in other switch in the same fabric ?

Please note, if you have a active/productive config and change the mode, the connection will lost.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
goran_k
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-06-2009

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

The 4700 is connected to a 4500; they are in prod; can't change settings; don't know why they went with open fabric over native mcdata mode.

Firmware Version:       08.01.01 4
FabricOS 6.2.0g



Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,715
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

First, the problem is here indead the Firmware and Fabric OS

Fabric OS 6.2.0 support only M-EOS 9.7.2 or higher

Note 3: 

It is highly recommended that M-EOS products operate with the most recent version of M-EOS

released and supported for interoperability. M-EOS 9.7.2 is the minimum version of firmware that is

fully qualified to interoperate with FOS 6.2 or later. For support of frame redirection in McDATA

Fabric Mode (interopmode 2), M-series products must use M-EOS v9.8 or later. For support of frame

redirection in McDATA Open Fabric Mode (interopmode 3), M-series products must use M-EOS

v9.9 or later. Only the ES-4400, ES-4700, M6140, and Mi10k may have devices directly attached

that are having data encrypted or unencrypted.

Second problem, have the 4500 same Firmware Release 8.x ?

Is the 4500 in Native Mode or McDATA Open Mode set ?

Thirds Problem, 9.7.x and higher are Incompatible whit 8.x

TechHelp24
New Contributor
goran_k
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-06-2009

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

4500 is on the same firmware level and also uses open fabric mode.

Firmware Version:       08.01.01 4

What's the proper sequence to upgrade firmware on the two switches?

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,715
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

Before you Procede whit the 4700 and the Brocade 300.

--->>> What's the proper sequence to upgrade firmware on the two switches?

Long story, but this is the only one way....

1) save the config from a Productive 4500.

2) check a triple time all connected Device Array and HBA which are connected to 4500 have compatible Driver and Firmware whit a new EOS

Here is the Matrix Guide

http://www.brocade.com/forms/getFile?p=documents/matrices/DCR_Compatibility_Matrix_090831.pdf

3) you need to Upgrade, step-by-step, Direct Online Upgrade is not supported, you need to upgrade in a Minimum 6 Step.

From current 8.x -> 9.0 -> 9.1 -> 9.6 -> 9.7 -> 9.8  -> and higher, 9.9.6 is the latest available Release.

4) upgrade cause a internal reboot, but is non-disruptive ( no warranty ) when your upgrade in more step, the switch not requiered to be offline before you start a upgrade.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.

If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.
Thanks!

TechHelp24
New Contributor
goran_k
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-06-2009

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

Just to confirm the upgrade sequence because it's not what I expected:

I need to backup config on 4500, check compatibility between new EOS and attached devices then upgrade in 6 steps as listed in your previous post.

In the previous post it was listed that 8.x is not compatible w/ 9.x; will this cause my fabric to partiton (mcdata 4500 is running 9.9 and mcdata 4700 is running 8.x firmware)?

After 4500 is on 9.9 level I need to upgrade 4700; once 4700 is on 9.9 I can attach brocade 300 isl links to it.

Re:From current 8.x -> 9.0 -> 9.1 -> 9.6 -> 9.7 -> 9.8  -> and higher, 9.9.6 is the latest available Release



I don't see download link for 9.1 code only 9.2.1 is that code level still OK for concurrent upgrade?

The newest code listed is 9.9.3.

And just to confirm there is just one upgrade bin file for both 4500 and 4700?

Excelent support will rate threads as requested.

TIA for prompt replys.

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,715
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

goran,

--->>> I need to backup config on 4500, check compatibility between new EOS and attached devices then upgrade in 6 steps as listed in your previous post.

Correct.

--->>>  The 4700 is connected to a 4500; they are in prod;

Note and Sorry, i typed wrong in my first answer, you need here to Backup both config, 4500 and 4700.

--->>> In the previous post it was listed that 8.x is not compatible w/ 9.x; will this cause my fabric to partiton (mcdata 4500 is running 9.9 and mcdata 4700 is running 8.x firmware)?

Both 4500 and 4700 are in the same Fabric, is correct ?

you need to upgrade step by step 4500 and then 4700 to next Release, As Example from 8.x to 9.0 first the 4500 then 4700, next 9.0 to 9.1 and so on.

--->>> After 4500 is on 9.9 level I need to upgrade 4700

NO, you need to upgrade parallel at same time 4500 and 4700 step-by-step as mentionen.

--->>> I don't see download link for 9.1 code only 9.2.1 is that code level still OK for concurrent upgrade?

Yes, you can use safely direct upgrade to 9.2.1 whitout 9.0

--->>> The newest code listed is 9.9.3.

In order to use Brocade 300 whit Fabric OS 6.2.x and below is ok and supported , if you want to upgrade the 300 to FabOS 6.3.x is not. 6.3 is only supported whit EOS 9.9.5 or higher.

--->>> And just to confirm there is just one upgrade bin file for both 4500 and 4700?

Is correct, EOS is a single .bin file.

sound complexed, is very simple.

have a fun



TechHelp24
N/A
byrnesa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2009

Re: ISL between McData 4700 and Brocade 300

I need to get the files to upgrade my 4500 switched to the newest firmware.

I have looked around the brocade sites for 2 days and have not been able to find them.

Can you give me a link?

Thanks,

Arthur

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.