Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
booth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

IPFC on 4100 switch?

Does anyone know what FOS version removed the ability to setup IPFC on a 4100 SAN switch?  Is the feature still available through any management interface, or is it now considered unsupported?

Moderator
Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24
Posts: 3,785
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

As far as I remember, if I'm not wrong, the Brocade 4100 is no IPFC capable.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
booth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

I can't find any documentation to back that up.  In FOS versions 5.X the ipaddrset allows you to set the fiber channel IP address and and subnetmask, in my 6.x switches, that option no longer appears.  In all switches ifconfig shows 'fc0' as an interface, and allows you to set it.

I don't understand why this switch would not be 'capable' or running this protocol.  FC and IP are both established on the hardware, this seems like a software thing...

Moderator
Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24
Posts: 3,785
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

booth,

I made some test on my 4100 and found out how you can add IPFC, that should work.

since the 4100 is not a VF capable switch, we must use the argument -ls followed from

Fabric ID ( by default is 128 ) and --add IP_ADDRESS/SUBNET

see example below.

TH24_B_41_CORE_1A_FAB2:admin> ipaddrset -ls 128 --add 192.168.24.191/24

IP address is being changed...Done.

TH24_B_41_CORE_1A_FAB2:admin> ipaddrshow

SWITCH

Ethernet IP Address: 192.168.24.141

Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0

Gateway IP Address: 192.168.24.1

DHCP: Off

IPFC address for virtual fabric ID 128: 192.168.24.191/24

TH24_B_41_CORE_1A_FAB2:admin>

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
booth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

I was able to use this command to set the 'fc0' interface, however I have not actually be able to use it to pass any traffic (can't ping the gateway IPFC box for example).

Have you been able to pass any packets between two switches using IPFC?  Any help would be appreciated.

Valued Contributor
felipon
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

Hi,

I have made a test and configured IPFC on two switchs connected by an ISL and was able to ping/telnet/ssh each other without issues.

Once the IPFC is configured, try to ping yourself to see if the protocol stack is working fine, check ifconfig (you should see a new interface fc0).

Occasional Contributor
booth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

I was able to get two 4100's to talk to each other, setting the ip addresses of the VF as suggested by Techhelp24.  This was an ISL connection between the two, just like yours.  I am wondering if this does not work over an IFL though.  I have a 48K and a 4100 with a IFL between them.  I have set up the fabric IP address on the 48K, can ping it from the 48K as you suggest, also set up the 4100 with the ipaddrset -ls, and the 4100 can ping itself, but the 48K and the 4100 won't talk to each other.  I am wondering if IP traffic won't go across an IFL?

Moderator
Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24
Posts: 3,785
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

About IPFC.

Please see attached Book "Building SANs with Brocade Fabric Switches" Chapter 9 , Pager 356ff

Brocade 4100 it's not Capable to move Traffic trough IPFC.

IPFC ( if I'm not wrong in all the years, and other is unknown to me ) is intended only for inbound management trough FC

In order to move traffic trough IP you need:

1) IP Capable Swicthes/FCR , like 7500; 7800

2) FCoE Capable Switches, like Brocade 8000

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
booth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: IPFC on 4100 switch?

Thanks.  This was the book I was using to set this up, and why I started the query in the first place.  4100 switches with older FOS < 6.0.X allow you to set the Fiber Chanel IP address with ipaddrset, without the -ls option trick you used above.  At one point in time FOS > 6.0.X this capability was gone, however /dev/fc0 is still available through vfabric, and root/ipconfig.

I am actually trying to set up exactly what is shown in the book (minus a few switches) for management without having access to the ethernet port on the switch.  I have access to the 48K, which has an IFL link to the 4100 switch we have been discussing.  I have one remote 4100 that does not have access to an ethernet port, I have a console, and an IFL.  I want to manage the 4100 without having to beg for a switch port in the remote location.

I did not see anything in the referenced book, FOS release notes, or the 4100 switch specifications that told me that the switch can't do IP over FC, in fact, I have passed traffic with IPFC between two 4100 switches that have an ISL link.  I am assuming, yet I have not found any documented evidence, that IPFC will not travel across an IFL, but will travel across and ISL.  With that assumption, I will throw in the towel, and attempt to get the remote switch connected to the net somehow.

Thanks to everyone for the help, it was educational.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.