Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
oscar.reina.ext
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2010

How to update ip address.

Hi forum,

recently, I changed the switch ip address but if i see with fabricshow command and network advisor show me the old ip:

Fabricshow output:

Switch ID   Worldwide Name           Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name

26: fffc1a 10:00:40:85:1e:e7:e7:76 0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         "Switch1"

ip Switch1: 192.168.100.34

How can update the information or to force a new discover?

Thanks for your great help.

Moderator
Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24
Posts: 3,804
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to update ip address.

In BNA, i believe you must remove the IP/Switch from Discover and Setup Discover with the current IP.

Are you sure NEW Ip is correct set ?

check with "ipaddrshow" command

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
oscar.reina.ext
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2010

Re: How to update ip address.

yes, the new ip is correct. In BNA, the "delete" botton is disabled when i tried to delete it. I only can delete all the fabric.

for example, i change the switch ip address, but in other switch that belongs to the same fabric, it shows me the old ipadd.

Valued Contributor
felipon
Posts: 670
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: How to update ip address.

Hi,

The behavior you mention is due to the fact that the IP addresses are exchanged during the Build Fabric process when the switchs are merging into the same fabric. Once the fabric is built and consistent, this info does not chance (it does not matter if you modify a mgmt IP, because that change is not significant to the stability of the fabric). Having said this, I am pretty sure that the only way to show the IP modification in fabricshow output is by forcing a new Build Fabric. I do not recommend it because, afaik, it is disruptive to the inter-switch traffic.

If you want to force a BF, the procedure I would follow is:

     - connected to the Principal switch.

     - execute fabricprincipal 1 -f

     - then a Build Fabric will be forced and once finished the new IP info will be correct.

Kind regards

Occasional Contributor
oscar.reina.ext
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2010

Re: How to update ip address.

Hi,

I made the procedure, but i could not see the change:

CP27-12B5-EB3:AD255:admin> fabricprincipal -f 1

Principal Selection Mode enabled (Forcing fabric rebuild)

Fabricprincipal:

51: fffc33 10:00:00:05:33:8f:ce:77 172.22.10.43    0.0.0.0        >"CP27-12B5-EB3"       (OK)

Other sw:

51: fffc33 10:00:00:05:33:8f:ce:77 172.22.10.49    0.0.0.0        >"CP27-12B5-EB3"       (wrong ip)

Thanks for your help!

Valued Contributor
felipon
Posts: 670
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: How to update ip address.

what a pity... then I have no idea about how to do it...

I did the test in my lab and the IP was updated with success.

Rgds

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.