Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-06-2012

How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

Hi,

I'm a newbie in fabric switch world :-)

A brand new blade server just arrived and i need to link the Brocade Fabric Switch of the new toy to our olw McData Sphereon 4300 Fabric Switch.

I added an SFP with fiber on both and plugged the LC connector on each side but i assume i need to do something else to make then communicate together.

I need to activate the link just during the transition to our new file server so i can backup both (old and new servers).

After that transition i gonna remove all the old stuff (server and FC etc.).

I think i need some instruction like how to configure port on both side and maybe some zoning thins to do also :-)

Thanks.


External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

Depend FOS Release Brocade Switch and EOS Release on McData.

Keep in mind FOS 7.x not longer supported Interopmode to McData.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-06-2012

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

Thanks Antonio for your fast answer :-)

So, i just checked that

Brocade = type BLADEC

               Model 8gb

               FOS V6.3.1b

McData Sphereon 4300

               FC Level 1040925

               Firmware 06.02.00.22

Thanks

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

EOS 6.x is not Support with FOS 6.3.x

you must upgrade McData to EOS 9.9.5 or higher

i would suggest to Upgrade to 9.9.6 or 9.9.9

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-06-2012

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

i'm trying to locate the Upgrade 9.9.6 or 9.9.9 but i can't find it anywhere.

Any idea where i could get it ?

Thanks.

Retired-Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎05-12-2010

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

Folks,

The content you are posting in this thread is better placed in another community: http://community.brocade.com/community/forums/products_and_solutions/data_center_products

That's where you will find experts in our SAN products and FOS firmware.  I will move your thread to that community.

The Ethernet Fabric community is for VDX products, VCS technology and NOS Firmware.

Best.

Brook Reams

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-06-2012

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

I really can't find any EOS updates for our Mcdata 4300 anywhere.

It seem totaly obsolete :-(


External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to link together Brocade 8gb to McData fabric switch

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.