Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-10-2013

How to identify active zone from two zones with different name but having same host and storage wwn in a effective zoneset

how do we know which zone is taken as active by the switch in a effective zoneset, so i can remove the unwanted

zone name, is there a command to check the active zones?

 

both zone names are in the same switch,

both zones are in the effective configuration,

hosts dont have any issues, but corrective action needs to be done.

 

eg,

 

Effective zoneset:

 

zone:  shvm01_hba1_to_0937_01d1
                50:06:0b:00:00:c2:66:0c
                50:06:04:8a:d5:f0:c2:70
 zone:  shvm01_to_01d1
                50:06:0b:00:00:c2:66:0c
                50:06:04:8a:d5:f0:c2:70
 zone:  shvm19_hba1_to_0937_02d1
                50:06:04:8a:d5:f0:c2:71
                50:06:0b:00:00:c2:66:10
 zone:  shvm19_to_02d1
                50:06:04:8a:d5:f0:c2:71
                50:06:0b:00:00:c2:66:10

 

Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-31-2013

Re: How to identify active zone from two zones with different name but having same host and storage wwn in a effective zoneset

Hi Prakash

 

What i would suggest is to run a "SANHEALTH" Utility on the swith.

 

It would generate a report, in that report you can see the "Hanging Aliases"; taking that as as reference you can delete the zones.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-17-2014

Re: How to identify active zone from two zones with different name but having same host and storage wwn in a effective zoneset

Hi Thrinath,

 

 

              Thanks for the reply, i have checked SAN health report and confirmed that its not there in the Hanging Alias, the zones appears as both are active in the effective configuration, my question is "If both the zones are active, how do i know which zone is active.? , and if both the zones are active and if i try to remove an zone to remove duplication, does this have any impact?

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-31-2013

Re: How to identify active zone from two zones with different name but having same host and storage wwn in a effective zoneset

It won't have an impact; Proceed with removal

Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-31-2013

Re: How to identify active zone from two zones with different name but having same host and storage wwn in a effective zoneset

I think you can use "cfgactvshow | grep zonename"

According to my understanding both the zones would be active; but you can remove one of then if they are duplicate, it wouldn't impact

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: How to identify active zone from two zones with different name but having same host and storage wwn in a effective zoneset

Hi,

 

There should be no impact if you remove one of those zone. If the other one with the same members remains active, no errors should be reported.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.