Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-09-2010

How to activate telnet in 48K

Switch model  : Brocade  48000

FOS               :v6.1.1a

I am unable to do  telnet to this switch.( SSH and webtools are working fine)

There is no ipfileter policy  in this switch.

Please help me on this issue .

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2008

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

If there is no ipfilter, then telnet is allowed on the switch side.

Are you sure there is no firewall rules disallowing telnet ?

What is the error message you're getting ?

Please let me know if the switch and the mgmt station are on the same subnet.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

You can check  it in configshow cmd if telnet s disabled. Admin log in is required for the same. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-09-2010

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

Telnet is working for all other switches.I hope there is no firewall in place.I am not very much sure that Ipfilter is configured or not .

I have attached configshow command's output.

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

Check ipfileter rules with the command

ipfilter --show

If there are rules blocking telnet you need to delete them or de-activate the policy. Post the above o/p and I'll see if I can help.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-09-2010

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

Sorry for delayed response.Please find below the output of ipfilter --show  command 

USSBSTREDGE121:admin>ipfilter --show

Name: default_ipv4, Type: ipv4, State: active
Rule Source IP    Protocol   Dest Port   Action
1     any                                            tcp       22     permit
2     any                                            tcp       23     permit
3     any                                            tcp      897     permit
4     any                                            tcp      898     permit
5     any                                            tcp      111     permit
6     any                                            tcp       80     permit
7     any                                            tcp      443     permit
8     any                                            udp      161     permit
9     any                                            udp      111     permit
10    any                                            udp      123     permit
11    any                                            tcp      600 - 1023     permit
12    any                                            udp      600 - 1023     permit

Name: default_ipv6, Type: ipv6, State: active
Rule Source IP    Protocol   Dest Port   Action
1     any                                            tcp       22     permit
2     any                                            tcp       23     permit
3     any                                            tcp      897     permit
4     any                                            tcp      898     permit
5     any                                            tcp      111     permit
6     any                                            tcp       80     permit
7     any                                            tcp      443     permit
8     any                                            udp      161     permit
9     any                                            udp      111     permit
10    any                                            udp      123     permit
11    any                                            tcp      600 - 1023     permit
12    any                                            udp      600 - 1023     permit
USSBSTREDGE121:admin>
USSBSTREDGE121:admin>

Thanks

Thiru

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2008

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

Based on the above, the switch configuration allows telnet.

The security provided by the IPFILTER is one way, meaning it only restrict connections coming to the switch. Therefore, this confirms that the switch configuration is not what is preventing you from login to the switch.

There maybe a firewall between the switch and the mgmt station (or the machine from which you are doing the telnet), or their maybe a host-based firewall that disallows telnet from the mgmt station. To validate this, attempt to do a telnet from the mgmt station to another device on the same subnet as the 48K.

Additionally, you could login to the switch as "root" and attempt a telnet/ssh from the switch to the mgmt station to determine if the restrict occurs in both direction before contacting your security admin.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-09-2010

Re: How to activate telnet in 48K

Thanks for your valuable input.We found the issue with firewall and we opened firewall port for telnet and it is working fine.

Thanks

Thiru

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.