Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Hi Expert,

This is my first time to configure Brocade 300.

From the box, we've already have 8 SFP and it's default license.

We need 8 more ports to configure our servers & storage (total 16 ports needed).

But, from the Brocade, seems like there's only 8 ports activated.

My question, how to enable my another 8 SFP's ?

Kindly appreciate for the help.

Regards,

FYA

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Additional information,

I've already access the BrocadeSoftware Portal,  trying to query the license. But it need "Transaction Key".

How can i get this 'Transaction Key' ? I've tried searching in the box, but i found nothing.

Can i activate my additional 8 ports without this key?

Thanks.FYA

External Moderator
Posts: 4,933
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

In order to Activated POD = Port on Demand, you must purchase additional License.

Ask you Local reseller or OEM if the switch is from OEM, e.g IBM, HP,

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Hi,

It's an OracleSUN's OEM.

But they recommend me to directly contact to the Brocade.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,933
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

--->>> But they recommend me to directly contact to the Brocade.

Brocade don't sell License Direct to Customer.

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎12-26-2010

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

is it part of the Oracle Exadata environment any chance?

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Your Sun/Oracle sales person is being slack.

To order an 8 pack of 8Gb SFPs you order  SGXSWBROSFP8GSWP-N

To order the 8 Ports on Demand, which have a Brocade Part Number of BR-SMEDPOD-01, you need to use (or we have used for example) a Sales Part of 7100962.

With the way Oracle work, they may find they have to talk to software sales to get the Ports on Demand, because it is a feature key enablement.

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-11-2010

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

my bad.. i will answer with english

bro yanuar.. U should buy a license port called ports on demand, with this license u could activate your additional ports in ur SAN switch

u can buy POD to ur spplier and distributor

sorry for my mistake before..

thx for tech help24

External Moderator
Posts: 4,933
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Please post here in English at next Time and not in Indonesian Language.

BTW, AFAIK, is not allowed to Sell/Offer Item trough this Community.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.