Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
sjm
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-11-2015

Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

Hi All I have two brocade based (but from OEM vendors ) 2 x 24 port Brocade firbe switches.

 

I am trying to just ISL 1 to the other.

 

The "main" Switch  show sthe following output with these commands

 

FOS is v6.4.0c

 

fabricprincipal -q
Principal Selection Mode: Disable
Principal Switch Selection Priority: 0

 

The port used  is 13 (which I have manaulayy disabled in below output)

 

switchshow

 

switchName:     dc-chc-ssw2
switchType:     71.2
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   1
switchId:       fffc01
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:33:68:80:1e
zoning:         ON (DefaultZoneConfig)
switchBeacon:   OFF

Index Port Address Media Speed State     Proto
==============================================
  0   0   010000   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  20:44:00:80:e5:23:1a:22
  1   1   010100   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  20:45:00:80:e5:23:1a:22
  2   2   010200   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  20:44:00:80:e5:23:25:1a
  3   3   010300   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  20:45:00:80:e5:23:25:1a
  4   4   010400   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:06:0d:2e
  5   5   010500   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:06:0e:5a
  6   6   010600   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:06:0d:ab
  7   7   010700   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:06:27:d5
  8   8   010800   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:90:fa:26:1a:ad
  9   9   010900   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:36:ba:7d
 10  10   010a00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:8c:7c:ff:30:08:c8
 11  11   010b00   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:06:27:da
 12  12   010c00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  50:01:43:80:33:18:35:f6
 13  13   010d00   id    8G   In_Sync     FC  Disabled
 14  14   010e00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  21:01:00:1b:32:bb:fd:d3
 15  15   010f00   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  1 N Port + 5 NPIV public
 16  16   011000   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  20:12:00:02:ac:00:42:a9
 17  17   011100   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:24:ff:28:2c:ef
 18  18   011200   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  1 N Port + 7 NPIV public
 19  19   011300   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  1 N Port + 5 NPIV public
 20  20   011400   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  21:12:00:02:ac:00:42:a9
 21  21   011500   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  50:01:43:80:33:18:35:76
 22  22   011600   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:7b:37:2d
 23  23   011700   id    8G   Online      FC  F-Port  1 N Port + 6 NPIV public

 

The comands below I get

 

dc-chc-ssw2:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID   Worldwide Name           Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
  1: fffc01 10:00:00:05:33:68:80:1e 202.164.30.162  0.0.0.0        >"dc-chc-ssw2"

 

dc-chc-ssw2:admin> islshow
  1: 13->    (incompatible)

 

 

The switch I am connecting too is

 

Fos version v7.3.1b

 

port used for ISL is 0

 

dc-chc-ssw4:admin> switchshow
switchName:     dc-chc-ssw4
switchType:     71.2
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   4
switchId:       fffc04
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:c8:dc:e9
zoning:         OFF
switchBeacon:   OFF
HIF Mode:       OFF

Index Port Address Media Speed       State   Proto
==================================================
   0   0   040000   id    8G       Online      FC  E-Port  segmented,10:00:00:05:33:68:80:1e (Eport Isolated)
   1   1   040100   id    N8       No_Light    FC
   2   2   040200   id    N8       No_Light    FC
   3   3   040300   id    N8       No_Light    FC
   4   4   040400   id    N8       No_Light    FC
   5   5   040500   id    N8       No_Light    FC
   6   6   040600   id    N8       No_Light    FC
   7   7   040700   --    N8       No_Module   FC
   8   8   040800   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
   9   9   040900   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  10  10   040a00   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  11  11   040b00   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  12  12   040c00   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  13  13   040d00   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  14  14   040e00   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  15  15   040f00   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  16  16   041000   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  17  17   041100   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  18  18   041200   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  19  19   041300   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  20  20   041400   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  21  21   041500   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  22  22   041600   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled
  23  23   041700   --    N8       No_Module   FC  (No POD License) Disabled

 

 

dc-chc-ssw4:admin> islshow
  1:  0-> 13 10:00:00:05:33:68:80:1e (incompatible)
dc-chc-ssw4:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID   Worldwide Name          Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
  4: fffc04 10:00:00:05:1e:c8:dc:e9 10.64.23.80     0.0.0.0        >"dc-chc-ssw4"

 

 

anythoughts are much appreciated

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,813
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

In order to form a Fabric you must set different Domain ID both switch have DID 1

 

use the command "configure" to change the DID

 

keep in mind this operation is traffic disruptive, because you must set the to disable with the command "switchdisable"

TechHelp24
Regular Contributor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

Looks to me like the Domain ID is 1 and 4 - different.

Check errshow for more details about why this is failing.

 

6.4.0 and 7.3.1 are far apart, but as far as I see in 7.3.1 release notes they should be compatible. Edge Hold Timer is different between in 7.3 and 6.4 so that might be why the merge doesn't happen.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,813
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

Ops... Sorry.

Guldmyr is right, I show in the wrong line

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

even if the domain ID's were the same it wouldn;t matter. Upon Pricipal Switch selection the switch with the lower WWN would become fabric principal and decide what domain ID to hand out if there was a conflict. That is not the issue. I think the problem is in one or more of the fabric settings in one of the switches or simply an incompatible port-setting like QoS, speed in combination with fillwords or the likes.

 

Use the "fabstatsshow" command to see why it failed. It might well be a simple thing.

 

 

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog


sjm
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-11-2015

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

Hi Again all.

 

I have change the portcfgfill word on both ports used for ISL to 3 and this madeno difference.

 

On doing the fabricprincipal -q command on our pre exisiting switch I get this output...do you think this is an issue ?

 

(note while I have some understanding of fibre stuff I am certainly no expert so would appreicate any comments explain the logic and how to check this stuff....thanks in advance to replies so far by the way)

 

dc-chc-ssw2:admin> fabricprincipal -q
Principal Selection Mode: Disable
Principal Switch Selection Priority: 0

 

 

The fabric principal command on switch I wish to add shows this.

 

Principal Selection Mode: Enable
Principal Switch Selection Priority: 0x30

 

 

Could it be that the first main switch has this disable so it can not participate and hence the merge fails ?

 

 

Also how do I actually check the switch configs have the same parameters set....what parametres are important to have the same....

 

Sorry for that noob question.....but unsure what needs to be correct across the 2 devices.

 

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

> Use the "fabstatsshow" command to see why it failed.
sjm
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-11-2015

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

Hi All,

 

Sorry for slow updates to this  as have been away on leave.

 

using the fabstatsshow command I get this outpuy from the 2 Servers I am connecting together.

 

On our "Primary" or main switch I get this out put.

 

Description                  Count   Port    Timestamp
---------------------------  ------  ------  ----------------
Domain ID forcibly changed:       0
E_Port offline transitions:       0
Reconfigurations:                 0
Segmentations due to:
                  Loopback:       0
           Incompatibility:       0
                   Overlap:       0
                    Zoning:       0
            E_Port Segment:       0
                 Licensing:       6 <    13  Sun Nov 22 20:52:40 2015
           Disabled E_Port:       0
               Platform DB:       0
       Sec Incompatibility:       0
             Sec Violation:       0
                 ECP Error:       0
             Duplicate WWN:       0
            Eport Isolated:       0
        AD header conflict:       0
  DomainID offset conflict:       0
  McData SafeZone conflict:       0
            VF AD conflict:       0
  MSFR/RD H&T WWN conflict:       0
      ETIZ Incompatibility:       0
     ESC detected conflict:       0

 

 

On the SAN switch we are trying to ISL too.

 

Description                  Count   Port    Timestamp
---------------------------  ------  ------  ----------------
Domain ID forcibly changed:       0
E_Port offline transitions:       0
Reconfigurations:                 0
Segmentations due to:
                  Loopback:       0
           Incompatibility:       0
                   Overlap:       0
                    Zoning:       0
            E_Port Segment:       0
                 Licensing:       0
           Disabled E_Port:       0
               Platform DB:       0
       Sec Incompatibility:       0
             Sec Violation:       0
                 ECP Error:       0
             Duplicate WWN:       0
            Eport Isolated:       4 <     0  Mon Nov 23 16:10:31 2015
        AD header conflict:       0
            VF AD conflict:       0
  MSFR/RD H&T WWN conflict:       0
      ETIZ Incompatibility:       0
     ESC detected conflict:       0
       Encryption conflict:       0
      Compression conflict:       0
  Encryp/Comp bw availability:       0
          Defzone conflict:       0

 

This looks to me that our main Switch does not have the full fabric license .

 

How do I check that This switch has the correct license.

 

I know the switch I am  connecting too is ok as when I was setting the 2 new switches that I wanted to isl too I joined them together and they can connect to each other fine.

 

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

Type "licenseshow" command.
sjm
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-11-2015

Re: Having issue ISL trunking 2 24 port brocade switchs

here is the licenseshow from the main Show (the one I dont think has full license)

dc-chc-ssw2:admin> licenseshow
bSR9bcyebcTWAcQ:
    Second Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license
bSR9bcyebcjWAcg:
    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 16 port upgrade license
SR44YTFXQBYmPPLrfAZWLKSTNY7FP7KSBJBYK:
    8 Gig FC license

 

licenseshow from the other switch which I know can isl/trunk fine.

 

dc-chc-ssw4:admin> licenseshow
cQQyeb9ccedRRzfp:
    Fabric license
DGPt7m47EQmt7MMYa7f9E9gWLFLtJF3KBACPK:
    Enhanced Group Management license
TaM47BBmXGWTJrNHY4a7TDLMgaFAHKCfBA3HG:
    8 Gig FC license

 

The difference seems to be the fabric license.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.