Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

HP c7000 connectivity

Greetings this is my first post. We have a pair of Brocade 5100 in our SAN (EMC2 VNX5500) and two HP BladeSystem c7000. We need connect the server bays to the SAN for using LUNs. Both c7000 has a pair of switches MDS 9000 series for SAN connectivity. Do we need apply any license for the Brocade switches for do this connection? I have read about a ISL trunking license, i don't know if it is necessary.

Thank's for help.

Valued Contributor

Re: HP c7000 connectivity

It would be easier, for me at least, if you had VC modules or embedded Brocade switches.

Now the easiest solution would be to run those Cisco switches in the equivalent of Brocade's Access Gateway mode.

Otherwise run them in interop mode. Unfortunatly I have no Cisco knowledge and can't help you on that part.

ISL trunking has noting to do with interoperability, but enables you to trunk ISL's between switches.

External Moderator

--->>> We have a pair of Brocade 5100....

--->>> Otherwise run them in interop mode.

dion,

keep in mind if FOS 7.x is installed on 8G Plattforms, Interop-Mode is not longer available.

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor

I was actually refering to the Cisco switches but must admit that

1) i don't know if they (Cisco) have that ability and

2)Could have written that more clearly.

Regular Contributor

With 5100 (and if you want to get to FabricOS 7) in effect this means that interop mode is not an option?

VC might be nice but it might also cause some headache.

Meaning Cisco's equivalent of Brocade's Access Gateway (AG) is the only option unless you want to stay below FOS 7 or have the MDS switches in 'switch mode' and then put the Brocade switches in AG mode.

Cisco's equivalent is called N Port Virtualization

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps5989/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a00808a0bce.html

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/ps4159/ps6409/ps5989/ps9898/white_paper_c11-459263.html