Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2014

HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

Hi,

    I've got a customer with a fairly old SAN setup and a couple of HP Branded Silkworm 300 switches. They are running FOS 6.4.2b and have been plodding along with no issues until recently. In the last couple of months one of them has begun to spontaneously reboot. I've been seeing the following in the errdump output 

 

2017/04/13-22:36:56, [HAM-1004], 1653, CHASSIS, INFO, Brocade300, Processor rebooted - Reset

 

This has occured about 4 times in the last 8 weeks.

 

I've looked through a supportsave to see if there are any alerts as I was wondering if perhaps there were thermal issues but all the switch components are reporting temps as nominal. Just looking for any advice on how to work back and perhaps determine the root cause of the reboot if it's not a physical issue.. 


I guess it could be a firmware... I am aware this is old firmware. Anyway if anyone has any pointers about where to look I'd be greatful. These switches are obviously out of warranty now but we do have hardware support from a 3rd party supplier so i could get the switch swapped out and the licence transferred. Or I could update the firmware. 

 

Advice welcome

 

thanks

Adam

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

Hello,

 

This is very difficult to determine the issue with only this message. The general recommendation for that kind of case will be to upgrade the switch at the latest firmware level available for eliminate this part of the potential issue as firmware is old.

 

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Brocade Moderator
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

Ensure that you have console - serial connection - where you log the output from the console. And a syslog server configured and setup. Also check for power loss.  But otherwise I concur with Thierry - update the to last supported firmware, target path.


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2014

Re: HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

[ Edited ]

thanks guys, I'll see if I can work out the upgrade path to a more recent FOS 7.x release.

 

Hopefully this will resolve the issues.

 

thank you.

 

addendum. According to this (http://community.brocade.com/t5/Fibre-Channel-SAN/Brocade-Fabric-OS-Target-Path-Technical-Brief/ta-p/63946) and the latest target path selection guide  I should be able to go from 6.4.2b  via the following route

 

FOS v6.4.2a → FOS v7.0.2c/d/e → FOS v7.1.1a/b/c* → FOS 7.2.1g → FOS 7.3.1d/e → FOS 7.4.1e

 

I assume this would be a non disruptive update?

 

Are there any steps I can skip if I am able to tolerate a reboot?

 

thanks

 

 

 

Highlighted
Brocade Moderator
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

Correct. The below would be non disruptive

 

FOS v6.4.2a → FOS v7.0.2c/d/e → FOS v7.1.1a/b/c* → FOS 7.2.1g → FOS 7.3.1d/e → FOS 7.4.1e

 

The latest Target Path which was release end of last week is at

 

https://www.brocade.com/content/dam/common/documents/content-types/target-path-selection-guide/brocade-fos-target-path.pdf

 

Notice that for FOS 7.4.1e - Migrating from FOS v7.2 (7.4.1e RN)

Any 8G or 16G platform operating at FOS v7.2.x must be upgraded to FOS v7.3.x before upgrading to FOS v7.4.1e.

• Disruptive upgrade to FOS v7.4.1e from FOS v7.2 is not supported

 

If you can take disruptive upgrades, then you can take two steps - for example skip the 7.2 upgrade, e.g.

 

FOS v6.4.2a → FOS v7.0.2c/d/e → FOS v7.1.1a/b/c*  → FOS 7.3.1d/e → FOS 7.4.1e

 

7.3.1e release notes says:

 

Disruptive upgrade to FOS v7.3.1e from FOS v7.1 is supported.

 


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2014

Re: HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

thanks for all the info. I've got one more question. I'm struggling to locate FOS 7.1.1x anywhwere on the hpe.com web sites...

 

Would it be ok to go the following route?

 

FOS v6.4.2b → FOS v7.0.2c/d/e → FOS v7.1.2b* → FOS 7.2.1g → FOS 7.3.1d/e → FOS 7.4.1e

 

 

thanks

 

 

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: HAM-1004 Processor reboot - trying to determine root cause

Hello,

 

Yes will be good.

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.