Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Flash Memory Out of Range

Hi all,

the problem after upgrade the firmware is:

FW-1402 Res Flash 0, is above high boundary(High=85, Low=0). Current value  is 88 Percentage (%).

FW-1424 Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL.

FW-1435 Switch status change contributing factor Flash: usage out of range.

ORANGE Important A situation exists where if not corrected, may result in a malfunctioning of the SAN.

I`ve done `supportSave -R" without any success.

Any Ideas?

best regards,

Ralf

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

Firmware Upgrade to OS 5.3.2

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

--->>> Firmware Upgrade to OS 5.3.2

from which release ?

If the current FOS rel. lower as 5.2.x use the command "savecore -l"

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

BTW, you are in the wrong Forum

post please such question in the future in Products, Technology, and Architecture

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

Hello Support-Team,

the Command "savecore -l" it`s wrong.

"This command is no longer supported as of v5.3.0"

The Switch Release is v5.3.2.

Is there a new command?

best regards,

Ralf



External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

savecore work as mentioned till FOS 5.2.x, and is not longer available in 5.3 or higher.

use here the command "supportftp"

for details / operands refer the Command Reference Manuals.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

thanks!

so the command is "supportftp -R" .... my last question, this command does not delete my configuration, or?

Ralf

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

Ralf,

No. The command not delete any kind of config, just move/delete dump file to ftp.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.

I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

TechHelp24
N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-20-2009

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

I encountered the same problem when upgrading FOS on a Brocade 200E from v5.3.2a to v6.0.1a.

Time Level Message Service Number Count Message ID Switch
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:12:10 GMT+00:00 Information Firmwarecommit has started. Chassis 664 1 SULB-1003 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:12:14 GMT+00:00 Warning Res Flash 0, is above high boundary(High=85, Low=0). Current value is 89 Percentage(%). Switch 665 1 FW-1402 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:12:39 GMT+00:00 Warning Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL. Switch 666 1 FW-1424 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:15:22 GMT+00:00 Information Firmwarecommit has completed. Chassis 667 1 SULB-1004 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:15:22 GMT+00:00 Information The new Version: Fabric OS v6.0.1a Chassis 668 1 SULB-1036 SIGRUN

I tried running supportSave but that did not affect the switch status which is still marginal.

I was going to continue upgrading this switch to v6.1.2b and then v6.2.1b, so should I just continue upgrading or should I first correct this marginal status issue?

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.