Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
slaine
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

Can anyone confirm whether when firmware upgrade using the fimwaredownload command causes the switch to reboot?

Also if the switch reboots as part of this procedure is this disruptive to the data traffic flowing through the switch?

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,699
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

Usually and in a most switch are Upgrade non-disruptive, in other one and some switches and release are upgrade disruptive.

See follow example from a diverse release notes.

example 1

To ensure non-disruptive Hot Code Load (HCL), neighbor switches should be operating with FOS v6.2.x

prior to loading FOS v6.2.1 on the following platforms:

4012, 4016, 4018, 4020, 4024, 4100, 200E

example 2

When upgrading to FOS v6.2.1 from FOS v6.1.0g or earlier, the CPs do not fully synchronize until both

the new active and new standby CPs are running v6.2.1. This is normal behavior and the firmware

upgrade is still not disruptive.

example 3

The Brocade 8000 does not support non-disruptive hot code loads (HCL).







TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
slaine
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-24-2003

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

I have been asked to upgrade my customers SAN Fabrics.

These fabrics support many of his mission critical systems

each fabric consists of five SW4100 SAN Switches each running FabOS version 5.0.4.

the customer wants to upgrade to FabOS 6.2.1

I am aware from the release notes that there is  a number of iterations require to get to FabOS 6.2.1

should I upgrade the pricipal swicthes in each Fabric first and then the remaining switches?

will this approach prove to be non disruptive to the data thorugh each switch?

sorry for being overly cautious but there is a lot at stake with these changes.

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,699
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

--->>> I am aware from the release notes that there is  a number of iterations require to get to FabOS 6.2.1

Your have to upgrade in Min. of 4 step's from v5.0.4 to 6.2.1 because direct Upgrade is not supported!

--->>> each fabric consists of five SW4100...

--->>> ....will this approach prove to be non disruptive to the data thorugh each switch?

when all device server's, array's and all other peripherial's are connected redundant in the same fabric,  your can be sure taht the traffic

is flowing without any interruption at 99,99% when the fabric is Correct configured.

Begin with FOS 5.1.0 to FabOS 6.x.x

For each non-director-class platform in your fabric, complete all firmware download changes before issuing the firmwareDownload command on the next switch to ensure a nondisruptive download.

i would be completed Firmwaredownload by all Switch to the next higher Release, and then begin with upgrade of next release.

Example:

from current 5.0.4 -> 5.0.5 by all switches

next from 5.0.5 -> 6.0.x by all switches

next from 6.0.x -> 6.1.x by all switches

and finally from 6.1.x -> 6.2.x

BTW, before you begin with a upgrade, check all switch for DUMP file.

Good luck!

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
biderbos
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-26-2011

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

Hi

I have a question. I must upgrade this switch. Just look below details

4100(Brocade-ID)   ------ Type 32   ----  2005-B32(IBM-ID) current version  v5.0.1b   -----------> until 6.4.2a

So I have planned these steps to obtain a non-disruptive process:

v5.1.1b; v5.2.0 b; v5.3.1b  ; v6.0.0c ; v6.1.1b;  v6.2.2b; v6.3.2b; 6.4.2a;

Is my process right??

Thanks in advance

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,699
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

biberbos,

this is ok, however keep in mind before you start with Upgrade, since you are at FOS 5.0.x execute the command "savecore" and check if any dump is available.

If yes remove before start with new FOS upgrade.

BTW. 6.4.3b is the latest supported release.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
biderbos
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-26-2011

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

Thanks for your answer . I appreciate it.

So must I do it (execute "savecore" command) before upgrade to v5.1.1b in the whole process? one time??

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,699
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

one time only.

the command is supported till FOS 5.2.x, by FOS 5.3.x and above use "supportsave" and "supportftp"

for details refer command reference manuals

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
biderbos
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-26-2011

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

Thanks very much for your help

So to finish the plan in this scenario, it is going to be:

1. Savecore  (select option 1 to clean or remove core files created by daemons.)

2. upgrade to v5.1.1b;

3. upgrade to v5.2.0 b

4. upgrade to v5.3.1b

5. upgrade to v6.0.0c

6. upgrade to v6.1.1b

7. upgrade to v6.2.2b

8. upgrade to v6.3.2b

9. upgrade to 6.4.2a  or  upgrade to 6.4.3b (maybe)

Trusted Contributor
TechHelp24
Posts: 3,699
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FabOS firmware upgrade procedure

Step 2,3 and 4 are ok.

This is Brocade suggested upgrade path for Open System Environments

FOS 6.0.0c -> FOS 6.1.2c -> FOS 6.2.2f -> FOS 6.3.2d -> FOS 6.4.3b

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.