Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-26-2009

FOS secondary partition missing image

We are in the process of upgrade our fiber switches to 6.2.2. Three of the switches upgraded with no problems but one switch upgraded the primary partition to 5.3.1a but failed to do the secondary partition. If you do a firmwareshow it reports;

Appl     Primary/Secondary Versions

------------------------------------------

FOS      v5.3.1a

         Unknown

If you login to the web tool interface and go under Switch Admin it reports a firmware download is in progress. The switch admin then reports;



: Wed Jan 27 2010 12:38:00 GMT-04:00

: Wed Jan 27 2010 12:38:00 GMT-04:00

: Tue Jan 26 19:29:04 2010 Firmware is being downloaded to the switch. This step may take up to 30 minutes.

: Tue Jan 26 19:48:35 2010 The firmware commit operation has started. This may take up to 10 minutes.

: Tue Jan 26 19:48:35 2010 Firmwaredownload command has completed successfully. Use firmwareshow to verify the firmware versions.

: Wed Jan 27 12:14:46 2010 The firmware commit operation has started. This may take up to 10 minutes.

: Wed Jan 27 12:14:47 2010 Firmwaredownload command has completed successfully. Use firmwareshow to verify the firmware versions.



It will do this every time you open the switch admin. Is there a way for me to force an firmware update to the secondary partition?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FOS secondary partition missing image

Have you Start the Upgrade to 5.3 from Allowed min. Release ?

you can upgrade to 5.3 from 5.1 or 5.2.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-26-2009

Re: FOS secondary partition missing image

Yes, we upgraded from 5.2.1b to 5.3.1a.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FOS secondary partition missing image

You can start "firmwarerestore" but i dont think that work.

If firmwarerestore failed, can you test with firmwaredownload now with the same 5.3.1a

Finally when you donthave any success, you need Help from Brocade Support.

Good Luck.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-26-2009

Re: FOS secondary partition missing image

After speaking with our support vendor, this seems to be a known issue with this firmware. Sadly the switch will have to be replaced to fix the problem.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-26-2009

Re: FOS secondary partition missing image

Thanks for your help.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.