Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2012

FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

Hi,

I have few question on FCR enabling/configuration on 7800.

Do we need switchdisable on FCR configuration?

VEX port configuration steps

Regards

Suresh

External Moderator
Posts: 4,813
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

--->>>Do we need switchdisable on FCR configuration?

No, is not necessary.

But you should disable the appropriate port when you made any change or config.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2012

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

Thanks for Quick reply,,

As per document we need to follow these steps, please confirm..

switchdisable

fosconfig --disable fcr

fcrconfigure   set the backbone id

fosconfig --enable fcr

switchenable

If you have complete steps of FCR and VEX port configuration ,please send it me

Regards

Suresh

External Moderator
Posts: 4,813
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

You ask for VEX config and not how to change or configure backbone id.

in such case is correct, in orde to change backbone id the switch must be set to disable.

--->>> If you have complete steps of FCR and VEX port configuration ,please send it me

here is not a standard Procedure aavailabe because the One environments is different from another one.

FCIP and FOS Admin Guide are two excellent manuals.

you should first planned what you want to realized before begin with any config.


TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,813
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

BTW.

what is the reason you want to use VEX ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2012

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

Old infra using merge fabric FCIP configuration with two 7800 now customer going to un merge the fabric.

And enabling the FCR feature ,so in that case we need to configure site VEX port and site 2 EX port.

Regards

Suresh

External Moderator
Posts: 4,813
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

Why VEX-VE?

I assume are switches on both sites?

I would create VE-VE and connect the Switches via EX Port on both 7800.

In such case you can leave the both 7800 Backbone ID as per default 128.

Both switches, Site_1 become i.e. FID 120 and the other Site_B FID 110.

Switches Domain ID can be the same or different i.e. 100.

7800 DID would become, 101 und 102 because this form a Fabric.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2012

Re: FCR/VEX port configuration steps on 7800

If site 7800 and site 2 7800 is in same fabric than VE-VE is worked but both 7800 is in different fabric than we need to configure VEX on one site for this need  integrated routing license and need to create LSAN zones.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.