Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

FC8-48 trunk port groups

Hello there.

I've tried looking at the hardware manual for the DCX backbone but am still struggling to find a clear answer as to what the trunk port groupings are for a FC8-48 blade.

We are currently planning the layout for our new DCXs and have found the documentation that details the which ports belong to which ASIC, but not within an ASIC which ports are able form a port group for ISL trunking.

Thanks,

David

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

David,

Layout design refer to Condor 1 ASIC Blade FC4-48 Blade, but is identically to Condor 2 ASIC FC8-48 Blade.

FC4-48_Blade_Design_1.png

FC4-48_Blade_Design_2.png

Trunk can be created on the entire blade, however Trunk Group must be created in the same Octet Port Group.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-28-2012

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

Excellent - exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks for your help.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-27-2012

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

How about Condor 3 Asic on 8510 -8 chassis, fc48 blade

do you have a picture like this:

trunk group.png

And ICL Condor 3 Asic on 8510 -8???

Thanks

Wellignton

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

--->>>How about Condor 3 Asic on 8510 -8 chassis, fc48 blade

Blade design FC4, FC8 and FC16-48 Blade are the same.

--->>> do you have a picture like this:

not sure if I have one. if you I'll post here.

TechHelp24
Regular Contributor
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎05-11-2011

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

Hi All,

the Layout for the FC16-48 is different to the FC4-48 and FC8-48.

The Front-End Ports 0-23 terminating on the first Condor3 ASIC and the Front-End Ports 24-47 on the second Condor3.

Please be aware of this differences if you plan to connect Initiator and Target two the same ASIC for not using the CR_Blade and obviate the Oversubscription of the FC16-48 (by max. 1,5:1).

The Port Groups are not changed. So Groups are 0-7, 8-15 and so on.

Regards

Ralf

Kind Regards
Ralf
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-27-2012

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

The Blades for DCX8510 still have only 2 Asics like this:

ThanksSem título.png

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-05-2012

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

I'm new, I have a DCX 8510-8 and it has two 64 port blades as well as 4 - 48 port blades. I would like to know what the 64 port blade is. Is it a FC16-64, or a FC8-64, and how are the ASIC boundaries layed out on it? Is it a Condor 3 or 2? I cannot find anything, any documentation on it.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

Hi,

with command "slotshow -m" you'll see the model of the port blade. On the other hand, I reckon that FC16-64 has not already been released...

Regular Contributor
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎05-11-2011

Re: FC8-48 trunk port groups

Hi Jim,

the 64-Port-Blade is an FC8-64, because there is no FC16-64 available.

The 48-Blade must be an FC16-48, because the FC8-48 is not supportet in DCX8510-8.

Or do you have the FC8-48E ?

Regards

Ralf

Kind Regards
Ralf

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.