Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-14-2005

Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

When I create a new configuration and try to apply it (using the web administration interface), a warning pops up that says that a disruption MAY occur.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-08-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

We enable zone configs all the time during normal production operations. We have never had any disruption due to enabling a new zone config. You shouldn't have to sut anything down.

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-07-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

I would agree. the level of impact is different dependent on the switch model and version of fabric OS you are running.Just as a rule of thumb I wait 10 min between changes on one fabric and the next.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-14-2005

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

Plumber,Thanks

Contributor
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-16-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

I have never seen a re-login by applying a zone config on Fabric OS 2.3 to 2.6.x... (as soon as the change does not affect running servers... <!graemlin:Smiley Very Happy&gtSmiley Wink

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-07-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

I'm not sure on 3.1.3. for me old gear is the 1 gig product line which runs the 2.x OS, new stuff is the 2 gig line of switches running 4.x.hope this helps

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.