Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

Device Name not showing on SAN switch.

Hi,

I am new to using Brocade SAN switches so I'm not sure how to troubleshoot an issue that we have.

We have a new HP C7000 with BL460 blades which are all on the very latest HP firmware including the VC's and OA's. We are also using the HP ESXi 5.5 image with the latest reccomended driver for the FC connectivity. Our Brocade SLKWRM 300 SAN switch is running the 7.3.1 firmware version. The issue that we have is that some of the WWN's display the Device Name but some don't. The ones that show up ok show the manufacturer Emulex with other information and the WWN but some of them only display the WWN.

Could anyone assist with this please?

Thanks,

Graham

External Moderator

Re: Device Name not showing on SAN switch.

try first with the command "nodefind" and/or "nsshow" is probable a BUG in vmware or vmware drivers

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor

general windows servers will add their hostname to the wwn, this is a driver thingy

its looks like this

NodeSymb: [52] "Emulex LPe1205-HP FV2.01A4  DV10.2.261.4 "serverhostname"

whereas 

linux or aix servers dont do that

you could try to name the HBA in the bios, if the hba supports that.

otherwise this information is redundant and not necessary to run the SAN

Occasional Contributor

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the posts so far.

I ran the command nodefind followed by the WWN and I got the same information on one of the WWN's show shows the device name but with the following differences.

Device type: NPIV Unknown(initiator/target)

SCR 0x00000000

And on the ones that displays all the information it had another paremeter as below.

FC4s: FCP