Fibre Channel (SAN)

se
New Contributor

Design guidelines two c7000

First of all, I’m a FC novice but want to learn

We have one HP C7000 blades system with 2 x Brocade 4Gb SAN Switches and currently utilizing 12 ports for a MSA2000 and EVA6400. We want to add an additional C7000 with 2x Brocade 8Gb SAN swithces and a 3PAR 7400 to the mix.

I guess we need two external switches. What about HP StorageWorks 8/24 SAN Switch?

What would be the best design topology wise?

I have read and tried (perhaps failed) to understand some of the techniques and concepts in the HP SAN reference guide. The Access Gateway mode of the blade switches sounds to me like the way to go and then connect all the storage to the external StorageWorks 8/24 SAN Switches. If this is correct, I can’t wrap my mind around a procedure to migrate without downtime.

Avoiding downtime is paramount!

I hope this is not too confusing and thank you all in advance.

/Søren

Valued Contributor

Re: Design guidelines two c7000

We have one HP C7000 blades system with 2 x Brocade 4Gb SAN Switches and currently utilizing 12 ports for a MSA2000 and EVA6400. We want to add an additional C7000 with 2x Brocade 8Gb SAN swithces and a 3PAR 7400 to the mix.

I guess we need two external switches. What about HP StorageWorks 8/24 SAN Switch?

For scalability in the future I would indeed use external switches.

Which one depends on  your needs, the 8/24 (B300) is a great entry switch but it doesn't have redundant PSU's.

If that important to your organization you need to consider other types.

Also the B300 is the 8G platform, while the Gen5 (=16G) successor is already on the market like the b6505, here you have to chose your SFP's with care as an 16G sfp can only do 16/10/8 (AFAIK) which leaves out the 4G devices.

Have your HP rep in on this with functional requirements and the tech. details of your setup.

What would be the best design topology wise?