Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

DCX license system ?

I have a dcx and it  los the license...(say no license). i try to register the old again but that don't work.

the license software-key  for normal switch are generated with the wwn-switch input and a transaction key, later you are using "licenseadd xxxx" and the license is in the switch..(i think there is a mecanism to controll that the license is for the correct switch though the switch wwn)

For the dcx , the director are delivered with the license already registrated. I try to make again licenseadd xxx but it say always license key not valid... (from old supportshow)

i became the original license table for my switch again  and an other one for an other one that is normal working

Nr               part Nr                      Ser Nr                                        Software key                                                       WWN

1EM-DCX-0001AFX1945E002
2SW-48KADZ-01e9dSSe9yyfAeTTS10:00:00:05:1E:C6:B5:FE
2SW-DCXEB-01SPPJ3MFaNLCKQSgQTg4HTt4ZaCQA4W7fB7EAA10:00:00:05:1E:C6:B5:FE
2SW-48KAWT-01bzc9ReSzeRc0dASn10:00:00:05:1E:C6:B5:FE


i try to register the software key in the dcx it is always coming invalid key.  (licenseadd xxx)

i controlled the wwn

Dcx2 BRCAFX1945E002 WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:00, the wwn switch is different.

on the other dcx (without problem) the license wwn are different from the switch wwn

How is working the license system for a dcx how can i register the licensekey into this one? exists a new method?

thanks

Tarik

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCX license system ?

is this the same issue ?

http://community.brocade.com/home/message/9954

License are unique by WWN Number, with other word as example a License from WWN ....xx:yy:zz:11 cannot be installed in .....xx:yy:zz:99

Try from CLI "switchshow" "wwn -sn" and "licenseidshow" to verify if you get same output.

post a result here.

Please note, the DCX use a dual WWN Card, it is problabe the Primary Card is Offline.

Try errshow to see if any error is available, collect the o/p and post here please.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DCX license system ?

how can i read the wwn of the second card? wenn i read the licenseid it come the normal www of the switch but not the wwn of the license of the excell list.

perhaps this one is the one of the second wwn-card

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DCX license system ?

i post the old issiue again while i had now the complet listing of the license. The new problem is to understand how i can add agin the old license... licenseadd don't work in thsi situation

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCX license system ?

--->>> how can i read the wwn of the second card?

Try the command "switchshow" "wwn -sn" , "wwn" and "licenseidshow"

collect the o/p and upload here.

check please the error log "errshow" collect the o/p and upload here.

BTW. See you e-mail, you have Post

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCX license system ?

the supportshow, show two WWN Address

10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:00

10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:ff

I note you have start a Firmware upgrade, was this impact caused before or after firmwaredownload ?

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCX license system ?

Notice

If you cannot use the wwn command because the switch is inoperable, you can get the
primary WWN from the same place as the serial number, except for the Brocade
DCX/DCX-4S. For the Brocade DCX, access the numbers on the WWN cards by
removing the Brocade logo plate at the top of the non-port side. The WWN is printed on
the LED side of both cards.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DCX license system ?

GO-F2A01202:admin> licenseidshow                                              
10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:00

GO-F2A01202:admin> wwn -sn

WWN: 10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:00

SN: AFX1945E002

GO-F2A01202:admin> switchshow

switchName: GO-F2A01202

switchType: 62.3

switchState: Online

switchMode: Native

switchRole: Principal

switchDomain: 1

switchId: fffc01

switchWwn: 10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:00

zoning: OFF

switchBeacon: OFF

FC Router: OFF

FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1

the same result

but why is on the table of brocade an other wwn for the license... exist for the dcx another procedure to add license?

LvlPart NoSerial NoInstalled DateSoftware KeyTransaction KeyWorld Wide Name
1EM-DCX-0001AFX1945E00209-Dec-2009
2SW-48KADZ-01e9dSSe9yyfAeTTS10:00:00:05:1E:C6:B5:FE
2SW-DCXEB-01SPPJ3MFaNLCKQSgQTg4HTt4ZaCQA4W7fB7EAA10:00:00:05:1E:C6:B5:FE
2SW-48KAWT-01bzc9ReSzeRc0dASn10:00:00:05:1E:C6:B5:FE


External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCX license system ?

--->>>.......but not the wwn of the license of the excell list.

is this WWN: 10:00:00:05:1e:6b:7c:00 the same WWN from the License ?

are you sure the License are correct and for this DCX ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DCX license system ?

yes look the sn numer of the table

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.