Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-04-2011

DCX - SNMPwalk only getting information on unused ports using SNMPv2c

All,

I am trying to do an SNMPwalk of a logical switch within a DCX. It only seems to be returning the ports that are not assigned to a logical switch. These are the unused ports. I have disabled SNMPv3, double checked the Access Control list, and have tried multiple community strings. I have also tried SNMPwalk against the physical switch IP and end up with the same results. Does anyone have an idea of what might be going on here?

Here is the command I am running:

snmpwalk -v 2c -t 10 -r 2 -c <community_string_of_switch> <ip_of_switch> 1.3.6.1.3.94 >snmpwalkv2.log


I am trying to gather information on the ports that are in use. Specifically port performance.


Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Kevin

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: DCX - SNMPwalk only getting information on unused ports using SNMPv2c

As far as I know Virtual Fabric needs SNMPv3.

A query looks like this

snmpwalk -v 3 -u admin -c public IP -n VF:FID yourOID

replace

IP with your IP

FID with the Fabric ID you would like to read

YourOID with the OID string you are looking for-

I hope this helps,

Andreas

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-04-2011

Re: DCX - SNMPwalk only getting information on unused ports using SNMPv2c

Does the model number of the DCX matter? I am pulling data from a few other DCX's just fine, but a couple of mine are not and the configurations look the same from what I can see. Do newer DCX's prevent data from being collected via SNMPv2C?

I appreciate the help.

-Kevin

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: DCX - SNMPwalk only getting information on unused ports using SNMPv2c

Hello Kevin,

you talk about logical switches and I assume that VF is enabled.

Switches with VF enabled needs SNMPv3 to work correctly and to be able to get SNMP data from logical switches as well.

Switches without VF enabled can be queried by SNMPv2.

Brocade does NOT support SNMPv2!

I hope this helps.

Andreas

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-04-2011

Re: DCX - SNMPwalk only getting information on unused ports using SNMPv2c

Andreas,

Thanks for the information. I'll do some SNMPv3 queries and get the data I am looking for. You are correct we are using Virtual Fabric on these specific switches.

Thanks,

Kevin

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: DCX - SNMPwalk only getting information on unused ports using SNMPv2c

Hello Kevin,

good to hear that my assumtions were correct ;-)

I hope that you get the information you are looking for.

By the way, if you are looking for Nameserver entries be carefull some FOS codes didn't report the first entrie of the Nameserver.

This is a known DEFECT.

If you need further help, please let me know.

I would appreciate if you mark the thread as answered or correct.

Thanks,

Andreas

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.