Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

Hi, I am new hereSmiley Happy

I have a big issue here: There are 2 servers (Sun M5000, one production and one backup), 2 Brocade switches (3800) and a StorageTek 6540 array. Current SAN includes the array, switches and the production server. I am now trying to make the backup server join the SAN. After I added two new zones (Each contains one port in the array and one port in the backup server) to the active configration of the two switches, the connection between the production server and the array was lost. Production server name is prdserver and backup server name is bpserver. The following is some info. Please help and thank you much in advance!


On switch 1:
Switch:admin> alicreate "bpserver_HBA_port1", "21:00:00:1b:32:84:fe7"

Switch:admin> alicreate "StorageTek_6540_port_A2", "20:24:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8"

Switch:admin> zonecreate "zone_bpserver_to_6540", "bpserver_HBA_port1; StorageTek_6540_port_A2"

Switch:admin> cfgadd "Switch", "zone_bpserver_to_6540"

Switch:admin> cfgsave
Starting the Commit operation...
0x1023dd80 (tRcs): Sep 11 19:43:14
    INFO ZONE-MSGSAVE, 4, cfgSave completes successfully.
cfgSave successfully completed

Switch:admin> cfgenable "Switch"
Starting the Commit operation...
cfgEnable successfully completed


On switch 2:

Switch:admin> alicreate "bpserver_HBA_port3", "21:00:00:1b:32:84:178"

Switch:admin> alicreate "StorageTek_6540_port_B2", "20:25:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8"

Switch:admin> zonecreate "zone_bpserver_to_6540", "bpserver_HBA_port3; StorageTek_6540_port_B2"

Switch:admin> cfgadd "switch1", "zone_bpserver_to_6540"

Switch:admin> cfgsave
Starting the Commit operation...
0x1023e380 (tRcs): Sep 11 20:26:40
    INFO ZONE-MSGSAVE, 4, cfgSave completes successfully.
cfgSave successfully completed

Switch:admin> cfgenable "switch1"
Starting the Commit operation...
cfgEnable successfully completed

-------------------------------------------------------

After the array disconnected from the production server, I have to unplug the cables connecting the new server to switches. The following is the current information:

On switch 1:

Switch:admin> switchshow
switchName:     Switch
switchType:     9.2
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   1
switchId:       fffc01
switchWwn:      10:00:00:60:69:51:1d:71
switchBeacon:   OFF
Zoning:         ON (Switch)
port  0: id N2 Online         F-Port 21:00:00:1b:32:84:03f
port  1: id N2 No_Light
port  2: id N2 No_Light
port  3: id N2 No_Light
port  4: id N2 No_Light
port  5: id N2 No_Light
port  6: id N2 No_Light
port  7: id N2 No_Light
port  8: id N2 No_Light
port  9: id N2 Online         F-Port 20:47:00:a0:b8:48:86:aa
port 10: id N2 Online         F-Port 21:01:00:1b:32:a4:5e:e2
port 11: id N2 Online         F-Port 50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:eb
port 12: id N2 Online         F-Port 50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:ee
port 13: id N2 Online         F-Port 50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:e1
port 14: id N2 No_Light
port 15: id N2 Online         F-Port 20:15:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8

Switch:admin> cfgshow
Defined configuration:
cfg:   Switch  m2_6540; TapeDrive; thumper1_6140; zone_bpserver_to_6540
zone:  TapeDrive
                20:01:00:1b:32:a4:5e:e2; 50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:e0;
                50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:ea; 50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:ed
zone:  m2_6540 20:00:00:1b:32:84:03f; 20:04:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8;
                20:15:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
zone:  thumper1_6140
                20:06:00:a0:b8:48:86:aa; 20:01:00:1b:32:a4:5e:e2
zone:  zone_bpserver_to_6540
                bpserver_HBA_port1; StorageTek_6540_port_A2
alias: StorageTek_6540_port_A2
                20:24:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
alias: bpserver_HBA_port1
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:fe7
Effective configuration:
cfg:   Switch
zone:  TapeDrive
                20:01:00:1b:32:a4:5e:e2
                50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:e0
                50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:ea
                50:01:04:f0:00:b8:0a:ed
zone:  m2_6540 20:00:00:1b:32:84:03f
                20:04:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
                20:15:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
zone:  thumper1_6140
                20:06:00:a0:b8:48:86:aa
                20:01:00:1b:32:a4:5e:e2
zone:  zone_bpserver_to_6540
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:fe7
                20:24:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8

On swithc 2:

Switch:admin> switchshow
switchName:     Switch
switchType:     9.2
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   1
switchId:       fffc01
switchWwn:      10:00:00:60:69:51:1b:c4
switchBeacon:   OFF
Zoning:         ON (switch1)
port  0: id N2 Online         F-Port 21:00:00:1b:32:842:e3
port  1: id N2 No_Light
port  2: id N2 No_Light
port  3: id N2 No_Light
port  4: id N2 No_Light
port  5: id N2 No_Light
port  6: id N2 No_Light
port  7: id N2 No_Light
port  8: id N2 No_Light
port  9: id N2 Online         F-Port 20:26:00:a0:b8:48:86:aa
port 10: id N2 Online         F-Port 21:00:00:1b:32:84:5e:e2
port 11: id N2 No_Light
port 12: id N2 No_Light
port 13: id N2 No_Light
port 14: id N2 Online         F-Port 20:14:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
port 15: id N2 No_Light

Switch:admin> cfgshow
Defined configuration:
cfg:   switch1 M1_6540; thumper1_6140; zone_bpserver_to_6540
zone:  M1_6540 21:00:00:1b:32:842:e3; 20:14:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
zone:  thumper1_6140
                20:00:00:1b:32:84:5e:e2; 20:06:00:a0:b8:48:86:aa
zone:  zone_bpserver_to_6540
                bpserver_HBA_port3; StorageTek_6540_port_B2
alias: StorageTek_6540_port_B2
                20:25:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
alias: bpserver_HBA_port3
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:178

Effective configuration:
cfg:   switch1
zone:  M1_6540 21:00:00:1b:32:842:e3
                20:14:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
zone:  thumper1_6140
                20:00:00:1b:32:84:5e:e2
                20:06:00:a0:b8:48:86:aa
zone:  zone_bpserver_to_6540
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:178
                20:25:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8

-------------------------------------------------------

On the production server:

prdserver# fcinfo hba-port
HBA Port WWN: 2100001b328403df
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c4
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843644845
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: N-port
        State: online
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: 2Gb
        Node WWN: 2000001b328403df
HBA Port WWN: 2101001b32a403df
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c5
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843644845
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: unknown
        State: offline
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: not established
        Node WWN: 2001001b32a403df
HBA Port WWN: 2100001b3284d2e3
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c2
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843645031
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: N-port
        State: online
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: 2Gb
        Node WWN: 2000001b3284d2e3
HBA Port WWN: 2101001b32a4d2e3
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c3
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843645031
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: unknown
        State: offline
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: not established
        Node WWN: 2001001b32a4d2e3

prdserver# cfgadm -al | grep fc
c2                             fc-fabric    connected    configured   unknown
c3                             fc           connected    unconfigured unknown
c4                             fc-fabric    connected    configured   unknown
c5                             fc           connected    unconfigured unknown

prdserver# luxadm -e port
/devices/pci@0,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0/fp@0,0evctl         CONNECTED
/devices/pci@0,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0,1/fp@0,0evctl       NOT CONNECTED
/devices/pci@10,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0/fp@0,0evctl        CONNECTED
/devices/pci@10,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0,1/fp@0,0evctl      NOT CONNECTED

-------------------------------------------------------

On the backup server:

bpserver# fcinfo hba-port
HBA Port WWN: 2100001b3284fed7
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c5
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843644457
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: N-port
        State: offline
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: 2Gb
        Node WWN: 2000001b3284fed7
HBA Port WWN: 2101001b32a4fed7
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c6
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843644457
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: unknown
        State: offline
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: not established
        Node WWN: 2001001b32a4fed7
HBA Port WWN: 2100001b328417d8
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c1
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843644449
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: N-port
        State: offline
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: not established
        Node WWN: 2000001b328417d8
HBA Port WWN: 2101001b32a417d8
        OS Device Name: /dev/cfg/c2
        Manufacturer: QLogic Corp.
        Model: 375-3356-02
        Firmware Version: 4.04.01
        FCode/BIOS Version:  BIOS: 1.24; fcode: 1.24; EFI: 1.8;
        Serial Number: 0402R00-0843644449
        Driver Name: qlc
        Driver Version: 20080617-2.29
        Type: unknown
        State: offline
        Supported Speeds: 1Gb 2Gb 4Gb
        Current Speed: not established
        Node WWN: 2001001b32a417d8

bpserver# !cfgadm
cfgadm -al | grep fc
c1                             fc-fabric    connected    configured   unknown
c2                             fc           connected    unconfigured unknown
c5                             fc-fabric    connected    configured   unknown
c6                             fc           connected    unconfigured unknown

bpserver# luxadm -e port
/devices/pci@0,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0/fp@0,0evctl         NOT CONNECTED
/devices/pci@0,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0,1/fp@0,0evctl       NOT CONNECTED
/devices/pci@10,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0/fp@0,0evctl        NOT CONNECTED
/devices/pci@10,600000/pci@0/pci@9/SUNW,qlc@0,1/fp@0,0evctl      NOT CONNECTED

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

--->>>After I added two new zones (Each contains one port in the array and one port in the backup server) to the active configration of the two switches, the connection between the production server and the array was lost.

after cfgsave and commit, you must enable/start the config.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

I did run cfgenable. Please see the procedure above.

No matter the modification is enabled or not, how could the existing server lose connection to the array?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

Perhaps, but I'm guessing, the zones for your production server was removed from the active config, cfgsaved but not cfgenabled.

After a while you add new zones save again and enable the config with production zone gone.

But that depends on how you fixed the production servers. If a rescan for HW changes/ioscan or whatever fixed it above statement will most likely not be the case.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

After I unpluged the cables connecting to the secondary server from the switches and rebooted the production server, everything returned to normal.

So, the zone for the production server is saved.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

Maybe its an copy paste error but i noticed the alsia of the bp server in both configs is odd.

cfg:   Switch

alias: bpserver_HBA_port1
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:fe7

and

cfg:   switch1

alias: bpserver_HBA_port3
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:178

They both miss a character and a colon.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

Yes. They were missing during copy and paste. Here are the current settings:

cfg:   Switch
alias: StorageTek_6540_port_A2
                20:24:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
alias: doc2_HBA_port1
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:fe:d7

cfg:   switch1
alias: StorageTek_6540_port_B2
                20:25:00:a0:b8:47:93:c8
alias: doc2_HBA_port3
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:17:d8

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

To bet would be nice if that solved your problem.

-What happens if you reconnect one cable?

-What messages (event messages on the switch) did you get the forst time.

-Did you try a fcping between production host and storage and/or backup host and storage to rule out any zoning issue?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Connection between server and array lost after adding new zone to Brocade switches

We can't do tests on the critical production server. Old version of FabricOS does not have fcping command. What is the best way to get error log or event messages?

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.