Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

Hi!

1. Do we need to have same firmware levels to connect two brocade switches; Model IBM SAN16-B2 (2005-16B) -> brocade 200e switch?

2. Both switches have full fabric license, and domain IDs are 1 and 2.

3. Can you please provide the link to firmware for 200e and steps to upgrade?

Thanking you in advance

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

Hi!

Thanks for your immediate response.

1. Is it mandatory to have same firmware levels on both switches?

2. In the admin guide, it is mentioned to provide the ftp path to firmware file as below:

  • Server Name or IP Address: 192.1.2.3
  • User Name: ftpusername
  • File Name: /pub/v5.0.1/release.plist
  • Password: ftpuserpassword
  • File Name: /pub/v5.0.1/release.plist

But there is no file with name release.plist in the v5.0.1 folder; we have many release.plist file inside the subfolders (starting with names SWBDxx) not in the root folder. Same is the issue with 5.3.2a, 5.1.1b releases.

Can you please clarify which folder to provide for the file name for this switch (200E)?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

--->>> Can you please clarify which folder to provide for the file name for this switch (200E)?

No folder must be selected.

release.plist is a file inside the folder and not in the folder root.

/pub/v5.x.x/release.plist ist correct

x.x is = the release you unzip in the FTP folder.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

Hi!

Is it mandatory to have same firmware levels on both switches?

Thank & Regards

C S Mohan Ram

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

NO, but compatible when both swicth are in teh same Fabric.

Tell me both release exact, i will check the compatibilty.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

Hi!

Switch 1 is running ver 5.1.0c

Switch 2 is running ver 5.1.1b

Is it OK, or we need to upgrade switch 1 to 5.1.1b?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Connecting two IBM SAN16B2 (2005-16B equivalent to 200e) switches with different firmware levels

Both Release are absolutely compatible.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.