Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Concept Clarification- Duplicate WWPN

With FOS7.0.0, understanding that detection of duplicate wwpn is much more robust (previous versions only logged errors) in that it will disable the port or based on a policy will decide the action. Our existing EDL vendor is stating that when they support automatic engine fail-overs, the surviving engine will take-over the failed engines wwpn, however if the failed engine is still powered on, it too will also have the same wwpn trying to login to the switch.  So before we moved our switch FW to 7.0.0x, the fail-overs seemed to work in most cases and the switch would not disable the port.

My question is as I'm very new to FC and Fabrics, is that has Brocade made these changes in FOS7.0.0 to enforce more completely the FC Spec's of not supporting duplicate WWPN and also allow for the new FA-WWN features, and that my EDL vendor should be changingto meet these specs (they should'nt have been producing duplicate WWPN's in the first place?)  Are there workarounds to support this behavior in the switch (specifically FC-AL and MIB  connections )?  Can someone help me understand if I should be pushing back on the vendor or do I now have to do more policy or workarounds on the switch to support this kind-of behavior?  Thanks for any education you can give me,

Super Contributor

Re: Concept Clarification- Duplicate WWPN

My first suggestion would be to test this offline before committing, as it will completely depend on your EDL vendor's exact behavior.  Technically speaking if they do produce duplicate WWPN, they are in violation, but i will check (with the product manager) to see if their is a delay before FOS 7.x pulls any triggers and shuts down the port.

So before pushing back on the vendor, hang tight until i get a firm answer on the exact Brocade behavior as this may be a none issue.

More to follow...

Regards,

Mike Eversole
Brocade Community Manager
Super Contributor