Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Complete beginner to FC... need a little help

Hey,

We've purchased a few Brocade 300 switches for the storage network for our new virtual infrastructure. We've got them setup as follows, so each host has two HBA's connected to two different FC switches. These are then connected to another FC switch in 'storage rack' via two cables. These storage FC switches then have two links to each of the NetApp controllers. As per the diagram below.

FC-Cabling2.png

So are as far as I can figure out, we basically need two fabrics, cluster-FC1 and storage-FC1 in one fabric, the other two in another? I've set different switchID's on each switch already but a switchshow throws up some zone conflict errors. Ports 0 & 1 are the two ports that link to the other FC switch.

Index Port Address Media Speed State     Proto
==============================================
  0   0   650000   id    N8   Online      FC  E-Port  segmented,(zone conflict)
  1   1   650100   id    N8   Online      FC  E-Port  segmented,(zone conflict)
  2   2   650200   id    N8   No_Light    FC
  3   3   650300   id    N8   No_Light    FC
  4   4   650400   --    N8   No_Module   FC
  5   5   650500   --    N8   No_Module   FC
  6   6   650600   --    N8   No_Module   FC
  7   7   650700   --    N8   No_Module   FC
  8   8   650800   --    N8   No_Module   FC
  9   9   650900   --    N8   No_Module   FC
10  10   650a00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  50:0a:09:84:8d:2c:b6:ed
11  11   650b00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  50:0a:09:83:9d:2c:b6:ed
12  12   650c00   --    N8   No_Module   FC
13  13   650d00   --    N8   No_Module   FC
14  14   650e00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  50:0a:09:86:8d:2c:b6:ed
15  15   650f00   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  50:0a:09:85:9d:2c:b6:ed

Am I right in thinking that we need a ISL trunk setup between the two FC switches?