Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2012

Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

Hi,

I'm connecting a Cisco UCS chassis to a Brocade 300 switch which connects to our 3Par array. The Brocade is setup in NPIV mode. The wwpn from the first blade is zoned in with the 3Par array and it's working fine. When I try to bring up the second blade, the wwpn is showing up on the same port as the first blade, I have added it to the same zone as the first blade, but this time 3Par cannot access it. Can I reuse the same zone or does it need to be separate zones for each blade?

Thanks.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

Amitrajit,

--->>> The Brocade is setup in NPIV mode.

to clarify, are the port in Brocade 300 set as in NPIV or is the 300 set in AG Mode ?

--->>>  When I try to bring up the second blade, the wwpn is showing up on the same port as the first blade,

I assume you are in AG Mode,

If the Brocade is set in AG Mode, how are UCS Blade Connected to ? Port on 300 ?

post switchshow output please.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2012

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

The UCS chassis is connected to port 11 on the Brocade. Here is the switchshow and portshow. Thanks.

FCSW01:root> switchshow

switchName:    

switchType:     71.2

switchState:    Online

switchMode:     Native

switchRole:     Principal

switchDomain:   1

switchId:       fffc01

switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:33:17:88:ed

zoning:         ON

switchBeacon:   OFF

Area Port Media Speed State     Proto

=====================================

  0   0   id    N4   Online           F-Port  23:24:00:02:ac:00:0a:58

  1   1   id    N8   No_Light

  2   2   id    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:8a:f0:34

  3   3   id    N8   No_Light

  4   4   id    N4   Online           F-Port  22:24:00:02:ac:00:0a:58

  5   5   id    N4   Online           F-Port  23:00:00:50:cc:20:5d:74

  6   6   id    N4   Online           F-Port  24:00:00:50:cc:20:5d:74

  7   7   id    N8   No_Light

  8   8   id    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:99:89:9d

  9   9   id    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:06:2b:1e:a6:ec

10  10   id    N8   No_Light

11  11   id    N8   Online           F-Port  3 NPIV public

12  12   id    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:8b:85:b9

13  13   id    N8   No_Light

14  14   id    N8   No_Light

15  15   id    N8   No_Light

16  16   id    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:9c:b2:d4

17  17   --    N8   No_Module

18  18   --    N8   No_Module

19  19   id    N8   No_Light

20  20   id    N8   No_Light

21  21   id    N8   No_Light

22  22   --    N8   No_Module

23  23   --    N8   No_Module

FCSW01:root> portshow 11

portName:

portHealth: No Fabric Watch License

Authentication: None

portDisableReason: None

portCFlags: 0x1

portFlags: 0x24b03       PRESENT ACTIVE F_PORT G_PORT U_PORT NPIV LOGICAL_ONLINE LOGIN NOELP LED ACCEPT FLOGI

portType:  18.0

POD Port: Port is licensed

portState: 1    Online

portPhys:  6    In_Sync

portScn:   32   F_Port

port generation number:    90

portId:    010b00

portIfId:    43020009

portWwn:   20:0b:00:05:33:17:88:ed

portWwn of device(s) connected:

        20:00:00:25:b5:0a:00:3f

        20:00:00:25:b5:0a:00:2f

        20:1f:54:7f:ee:63:30:00

Distance:  normal

portSpeed: N8Gbps

LE domain: 0

FC Fastwrite: OFF

Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 0          Frjt:         0

Unknown:           28         Loss_of_sync: 17         Fbsy:         0

Lli:               91         Loss_of_sig:  19

Proc_rqrd:         8078       Protocol_err: 0

Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 519067

Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0

Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0

Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0

Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        2

Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       0

Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       0

2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      2

CMI_bus_err:       0

Port part of other ADs: No

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

Since Brocade is set in Native Mode and UCS is connected as NPIV, I believe you must made some settings on UCS Port side, like LSAN. I'm not familiary whit such UCS equipment,but i think Cisco should have DOC about any such config.


TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2012

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

Thanks for confirming the settings. Am working with Cisco to see if they can shed some light.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

Which WWNs do you have in the zone that doesn't work now?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2012

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

20:00:00:25:b5:0a:00:3f is the new one added. I have saved and enabled the zone config multiple times.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

maybe this help a bit to solve you problem, follow this link

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2101198

from this Threads by Cisco Forum as per my understanding the port must be set as E Port / F Port and not as N Port.

because N_Port handle Connectivity Device, while E and F Port handle Switch Port.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2012

Re: Cisco UCS and Brocade 300 config

The issue was for M81KR adapters on UCS chassis, the OS needs to be loaded and driver first needs to be installed before the adapter gets initialized. Once that was done, storage array could see the wwn.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.