Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-09-2014
Accepted Solution

Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

hi,
We have a StorageWorks SAN Switch 2 / 16V that was currently working fine on a SAN. We needed to reuse it, in other site, so we restarted the switch to factory with the following commands:

 

switchdisable
cfgdisable (hit "and" at prompt)
cfgclear (hit "and" at prompt)
cfgSave (hit "and" at prompt)
configdefault
switchenable
reboot

 

once the switch restarts, it doesn´t allow us to enable the ports and the command switchShow shows the following:

 

san_hornos:admin> switchshow

switchName:     san_hornos

switchType:     26.2

switchState:    Online

switchMode:     Native

switchRole:     Principal

switchDomain:   1

switchId:       fffc01

switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:34:3e:31

zoning:         OFF

switchBeacon:   OFF

 

Port Media Speed State

=========================

  0   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  1   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  2   --    2G   Port_Flt  Disabled

  3   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  4   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  5   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  6   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  7   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  8   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

  9   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

10   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

11   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

12   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

13   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

14   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

15   id    2G   No_Light  Disabled

san_hornos:admin>

 

when we try to issue the command portenable on a port, it shows:

 

portEnable failed check if switch is disabled or slot is off

 

Also, the sfpshow command does not display information about any of the sfp and lights in the ports are one in green (not blinking) and the other in orange blinking.

 

The switch has a licence and it is correct.

 

san_hornos:admin> licenseshow
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:
    Web license
    Zoning license
    2 Domain Fabric license
san_hornos:admin>  

 

I am enable to connect to the switch through telnet and serial, and with admin and root accounts.

 

Any idea about how to fix it?

Thanks!!

 

 

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

What firmware version is on the switch?
Valued Contributor
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

Did you try switchdisable/switchenable?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

Hi alexey and thanks for the reply.

The switch has the following Firmware version:

 

san_hornos:admin> firmwareshow
Primary partition: v4.2.0b
Secondary Partition: v4.2.0b
san_hornos:admin>

 

and yes, i try to issue the commands switchdisable and switchenable, also reboot the switch several times, issue the command portcfgpersistentenable but none of it really works.

 

thanks for any idea.

 

Regards.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

can you post the output of errdump?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

Hi Felipon, here you go.

 

san_hornos:admin> errdump

Error 13
--------
0x264 (fabos): Dec 11 12:07:06
Switch: 0, Info FABRIC-DOMAIN_INFO, 4, Domain 1

Error 12
--------
0x264 (fabos): Dec 11 12:07:06
Switch: 0, Info FABRIC-SWITCH_ROLE, 4, Principal switch

Error 11
--------
0x24e (fabos): Dec 11 12 0x264 (fabos): Switch: 0, Info :06:56
Switch:FABRIC-DOMAIN_INFO, 4, 0, Error EM-SWIDomain 1
TCH_FAULTY, 2, S
witch set to fau
lty, rc=0x30000

Error 10
--------
0x24e (fabos): Dec 11 12:06:56
Switch: 0, Error EM-SWITCH_FAULTY, 2, Switch set to faulty, rc=0x30000

Error 09
--------
0x3c5 (fabos): Dec 11 12:05:55
Switch: 0, Critical DIAG-INIT, 1, txdpath:ExtLB, pass 1,
Pt0/2(2) Ch0/2 2Gbps Failed to go active after initialization,
Err# 139023A 0002

Error 08
--------
0x24f (fabos): Dec 11 12:04:26
Switch: 0, Info HAM-REBOOT_REASON, 4, Switch reboot, reason: Unknown

Error 07
--------
0x265 (fabos): Dec 11 12:04:23 (2)
Switch: 0, Info ZONE-DB_RESTORE_TIME, 4, Zone-DB size (8) bytes. Wallclock Restore time (3) milli-sec [normal].

Error 06
--------
0x24e (fabos): Dec 09 11:43:23
Switch: 0, Error EM-SWITCH_FAULTY, 2, Switch set to faulty, rc=0x30000

Error 05
--------
0x24e (fabos): Dec 09 11:43:23
Switch: 0, Error EM-SWITCH_FAULTY, 2, Switch set to faulty, rc=0x30000

Error 04
--------
0x3bf (fabos): Dec 09 11:42:22
Switch: 0, Critical DIAG-INIT, 1, txdpath:ExtLB, pass 1,
Pt0/2(2) Ch0/2 2Gbps Failed to go active after initialization,
Err# 139023A 0002

Error 03
--------
0x24e (fabos): Dec 09 11:40:54
Switch: 0, Error EM-FRU_FAULTY, 2, Power supply 1 set to faulty, rc=0x2000e

Error 02
--------
0x24f (fabos): Dec 09 11:40:53
Switch: 0, Info HAM-REBOOT_REASON, 4, Switch reboot, reason: Unknown

Error 01
--------
0x2ffe (fabos): Dec 05 17:20:03
Switch: 0, Info ERRLOG-NV_LOG_CLRD, 4, Persistent error log cleared


2san_hornos:admin>

Valued Contributor
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

Port 2 failure looks like an ASIC defect to me. So it could be that there is a hardware issue which prevents further operations.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

Do you really still have 2Gb hosts and storage devices that you want to connect using this museum rarity? Smiley Happy
Valued Contributor
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

Try one more thing, enter command
diagDisablePost
And then reboot the switch again
Valued Contributor
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Cannot enable ports on Storageworks SAN switch 2/16V

And one more question: do you have an SFP inserted in the port #2?

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.