Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

Can't get a new xSeries server to see Fabric (Silkworm 3250)

Hey everyone,

This may seem elementary, but I can't seem to get my new x3650 M2's to see any fabric devices when plugged into a 2005-H08 (Silkworm 3250) switches.

Setup:
2x 2005-H08 redundant switches

1 FastT700, DS4700 and DS4100, along with 2xBlade Center FC switch modules are plugged into the switch. Everything is working as it should, however, when I plug the x3650's into the switch, and scan for fibre devices from the QLogic FAST! Util, it can't find any devices.

The switches don't have any zoning setup (it's a small server room so we didn't figure we needed it). I'm rather new to SANs but I managed to get the DS4700 up and running without too much trouble. When plugged into the switches, logging into the Switch Admin via the web interface indicates that they're plugged (shown as F-Port's).. I can provide more information if necessary.

Is there anything I need to do in order to configure the switch or ports where the servers are connected to in order for them to see the fabric devices?

I feel I'm missing something that's right in front of my nose, but I can't seem to find it.

External Moderator

Re: Can't get a new xSeries server to see Fabric (Silkworm 3250)

---Is there anything I need to do in order to configure the switch or ports where the servers are connected to in order for them to see the fabric devices?

Yes, a unique Zoning.

Create a simple Zoning for all 8 Port, each port must have a Alias Name Put all Alias member in the Zone, create a Config, put the Zone in the config and save it.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor

Thanks for the answer... I will test this when I get into the office.