Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

Cabling & fabric decision

[ Edited ]

Hello everyone,

I’m kind of new in the storage world. I’m still learning.

Today I have a HP C7000 blade enclosure with 2 x HP B-series 8/12c SAN Switch BladeSystem c-Class. These are connected to our EVA 6350 controllers (see the attached diagram how it's connected today). The EVA has 8 FC ports, 4 on each controller.

I want to install 1 more C7000, with same model of brocade SAN switches to same storage. What’s the best practice to do with cabling, fabrics, ISL?

Thanks in advance!

Contributor

Re: Cabling & fabric decision

[ Edited ]
Hi!
The best way it's buy additional switch like Brocade 300.
Connect your storage directly to switch, change blade switches mode to access gateway and make your SAN in redundant topology.

Another way you can commutate your storage to each switch.
Chassis1 bay3 - storage port1 ctrl1;
Chassis1 bay4 - storage port1 ctrl2;
Chassis2 bay3 - storage port2 ctrl2;
Chassis2 bay4 - storage port2 ctrl1.

Establish isl trunk port (if you have needed licence) between:
Chassis1 bay3 - Chassis2 bay3;
Chassis1 bay4 - Chassis2 bay4.

In your case you can connect fp3 storage ports to SW3 and fp4 storage ports to SW4.
About ISL connections...
You will need make them if:
1. You have masking on storage for all ports.
2. You would create for example, vmware clusters between chassis.
3. Some servers generate high workload traffic and you want spread the load.
Occasional Contributor

[ Edited ]

Thanks for your replied!

Additional switch is that for scalability in the future?

I don't have budget for that now, but should consider it.

Your second suggestion was my primary way to go, but I was even unsure. I have the switches licensed with ISL (not trunking I guess). If I understand correctly I get 2 fabrics (left & right switches).