Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
ssh-storage
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

Hi!

We're looking into connecting two datacenters with dark fiber, Cisco EWDM-MUX8, and Brocade 6510's for SAN core switches.

Is anything known about whether it's possible to use CWDM/DWDM SFPs in a 6510? Is there maybe a document i've missed?

Is there anything else to consider with the combination we have in mind?

Thanks in advance.

Frequent Contributor
ybzahr
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

Hello,

Working on a similar project (Brocade 5100/5300 FC switchs with passive DWDM mux/demux and dark fiber).

Take a look at the latest Brocade Compatibility Matrix available here :

Compatibility

HTH.

Best.

Y.

Occasional Contributor
ssh-storage
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

Hi. Thanks for the quick reply.

Looks like Brocade 5300 and SmartOptics modules would make a nice fit. Is that right?

But aren't the Brocade 6000-series switches supported at all yet?

Frequent Contributor
ybzahr
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

Well,

I'm not an FC guru but here is what I can share.

We've been looking at the support of xWDM optics for 5000 series and 6000 series.

We found out that :

- SmartOptics is the brand that meets our needs and fits the technical pre-requisits,

- 6000 series have limited support for xWDM optics depending on type (C vs D) and speed (4G, 8G, etc.),

- We were told thtat 6000 series support for DWDM optics is being validated by the manufacturers R&D (Brocade, NetApp, SmartOptics) but no ETA,

HTH.

Y.

Occasional Contributor
ssh-storage
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

That's my thought as well. I'm new at this too.

We're also looking at Brocade DCX equipment now.

Are they all supposed to be supported, including the newer 8510 models?

The matrix just says DCX.

Frequent Contributor
ybzahr
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

I don't know.

I'd suggest you ask your local SE about this.

Best.

New Contributor
joakim.lemb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2013

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

Has no one tested or started using CWDM on the 6510 switches?

Our reseller just redirected us to the compatibility matrix pdf which has not been updated since May 2012 and does not include the 6510 series.

Contributor
jdaignea
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-12-2009

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

http://www.brocade.com/downloads/documents/matrices/compatibility-matrix-fos-7x-mx.pdf

Brocade FOS 7 Compatibility matrix was released November 2012. You'll find the SmartOptics / 6510 references there.

New Contributor
joakim.lemb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2013

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

Thanks... I could only find this link everywhere i looked: http://www.brocade.com/forms/getFile?p=documents/matrices/brocade-compatibility-matrix.pdf

And that one refers to the May 2012 document...

Occasional Contributor
ssh-storage
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Re: CWDM/DWDM in Brocade 6510

So does the FOS7 compatibility matrix go on top of the hardware compatibility matrix? Is that how i'm supposed to read those?

And even with both of them combined, it still looks like the CWDM SFP's from SmartOptics are not supposed in either the DCX 8510 or the 6510. Am i right?

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.