Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2005

CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

These are appearing when I connect to the switch. Its a silkworm 3800 running v3.2.1. The switch appears to be operating normally. They are annoying. Can anyone tell me what they are and why I am getting these? They will go away if I enable "rapid" but I don't want that running if posible.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,909
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

Hi sysmgr,

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2005

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

The errors go away when the configuration parameter "rapid" is enabled. They reappear when it's disabled. It will happen on any switch, so it's not a hardware issue. I all ready checked through all the available documenation, which was pretty useless. I wanted to know if anyone had any more insights to these errors.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,909
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

Hi sysmgr,Please Inform.

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎05-12-2004

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

Let's look at this from the perspective of any generic program. SEMTAKE => take a semafore. What does that mean, a semafore is an autonomous object in an operating system used for synchronization. Basicially its job is to only allow a single process or thread to access a critical section of code at a time. SEMGIVE => release the semafore, allow someone else to take the semafore and access the code. So, in this case, the error is probably caused by a piece of code trying to take/give a semafore that is not set up. Once you start rapid the semafore is setup and no error messages are given.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2005

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

Thanks. I'll give 3.2.1b a try.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2005

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

In response to f_det ...Thanks for the explanation. I pretty much assumed that all ready. However, it doesn't explain how to get rid of the messages without enabling the rapid service. I do not want that running on my switches.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2005

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

Updating to 3.2.1b did not solve it. The errors still appear.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎05-12-2004

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

I think we both know what rapid is right? If you have your switches behind a firewall, block port 111 and then no one will be able to make a connection, then you can enable rapid and get rid of the messages. Rapid is fairly benign when no one makes a connection to it.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2005

Re: CRITICAL SEMA-SEMTAKE/CRITICAL SEMA-SEMGIVE errno = 0x3d0001

By turning the rapid service "on" the messages go away. When it's disabled, the messages return. I can leave it on, but since I do not need or want this service running, I should be able to turn it off. If there is anyone from Brocade out there, please fix this in your firmware or take out the option to disable/enable it. <!graemlin::mad:>

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.