Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-31-2011

CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

Hi,

We have  IBM SAN768B (Brocade DCX), getting below mentioned errors for CP  blade.

Fabric OS details:-

Kernel:     2.6.14.2   
Fabric OS:  v6.4.0c

2011/06/25-22:03:35, , 158, SLOT 7 | FFDC | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Detected termination of process tsd:1985

2011/06/25-22:03:35, , 159, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, HA State out of sync.

2011/06/25-22:03:36, , 160, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, INFO, IBM_2499_384, First failure data capture (FFDC) event occurred.

2011/06/25-22:03:36, , 161, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, CRITICAL, IBM_2499_384, Non restartable component (ts (pid=1985)) died.


2011/06/25-22:03:36, , 162, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump available (Slot 7)! (reason: FFDC)

2011/06/25-22:03:36, , 163, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump (Slot 7) was not transferred because trace auto-FTP disabled.

2011/06/25-22:03:36, , 164, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump available (Slot 7)! (reason: FFDC)

2011/06/25-22:03:36, , 165, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump (Slot 7) was not transferred because trace auto-FTP disabled.

2011/06/25-22:03:40, , 166, SLOT 6 | FID 128, WARNING, NDC2_SW41, Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL.

2011/06/25-22:03:40, , 167, SLOT 6 | FID 128, WARNING, NDC2_SW41, Switch status change contributing factor CP: CP non-redundant (Slot7/CP1) faulty.

2011/06/25-22:04:46, , 168, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, ERROR, IBM_2499_384, CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted.

2011/06/25-22:07:08, , 169, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, INFO, IBM_2499_384, Resetting standby CP (double reset may occur)

2011/06/25-22:07:22, , 170, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, INFO, IBM_2499_384, CP in slot 7 not faulty, CP ERROR deasserted.

2011/06/25-22:08:25, , 171, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, INFO, IBM_2499_384, Processor rebooted - Software Fault:Kernel Panic

2011/06/25-22:08:26, , 172, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump available (Slot 7)! (reason: PANIC)

2011/06/25-22:08:26, , 173, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump (Slot 7) was not transferred because trace auto-FTP disabled.

2011/06/25-22:08:26, , 174, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump available (Slot 7)! (reason: PANIC)

2011/06/25-22:08:26, , 175, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, WARNING, IBM_2499_384, Trace dump (Slot 7) was not transferred because trace auto-FTP disabled.

2011/06/25-22:08:57, , 176, SLOT 7 | CHASSIS, INFO, IBM_2499_384, HA State is in sync.

2011/06/25-22:08:57, , 177, SLOT 6 | CHASSIS, INFO, IBM_2499_384, HA State is in sync.

2011/06/25-22:09:01, , 178, SLOT 6 | FID 128, INFO, NDC2_SW41, Switch status changed from MARGINAL to HEALTHY.

I've attached the supportshow from the switches for information.

Can someone help and elaborate more on why is this happening?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,809
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

with "supportftp" command, verify if any Dump available, move to FTP Server, and remove the dump.

if the error persist, open a call by Brocade or OEM, accordly your Support Contract.

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

It looks for me that you have configured tstimezone with the --interactive option to the timezone Asia/Calcutta.

Is this correct?

If yes, please configure tstimezone with the --old option instead of the --interactive option. You have to set the time offset in hours,minutes.

This version of FOS code had some issues with the interactive option.

I hope this helps.

Andreas

Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎01-05-2005

Re: CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

can you please point me to some brocade doc that said there is issue with this? thanks

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

No I can't. In my case the issue has been solved to change the timezone to the old format.

It looks to me that the thread owner had found a solution. Currently he leave it open if the timezone has caused the issue.

Regards,

Andreas

Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎01-05-2005

Re: CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

I understood that after you made the change, problem went away. However, what I was wondering is how do you come to the conclusion that tstimezone --interactive is the cause and know how to correct it. Did you read it somewhere or someone told you there there was issue in FOS 6.4x and how to fix it?

Thanks,

External Moderator
Posts: 4,809
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CP in Slot 7 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

SANuser,

Andreas wrote:

--->>> It looks for me that you have configured tstimezone with the --interactive option to the timezone Asia/Calcutta.

In answer to you question:

--->>> can you please point me to some brocade doc that said there is issue with this? thanks

Release Note 7.0.0c report a similary Defect Closed, see attach.

Not sure if this have any impact with you problem, but as Andreas sayed, i would check / adjust the TimeZone, is problable this caused the issue.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.