Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor
dghosh

Brocade switches and CWDM links

Hi there

This is my first post on this forum so please pardon if I have posted it in the wrong place. I am facing an issue which I have tried to look everywhere for without any success. I have a setup where there are two switches in each datacentre. They are about 2 Kms apart. I am trying to get HP EVAs to replicate over a dark fibre link (CWDM). There are no ISLs and the only connection between the switches are the CWDM links. The CWDM links that terminate on the switch ports produces green link lights, which will suggest to me that the links are working. However, when I login to the switches, the actual ports cannot see any WWPNs. I have never worked with CWDM before, so my questions are:

• If I don't see any WWPNs how can I zone the storage controllers so that they can see each other and start replication?
  • Do I need to undertake any special configuration on the switch port itself which will help it to recognize that the terminating link is not a normal fibre link but a CWDM? Do I need to change the port type, speed etc, if so are there any instructions/documentation around that?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, so will be any documentation provided in this regard.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Valued Contributor
TechHelp24

Re: Brocade switches and CWDM links

Dipan,

you shuld first check compatibility between Brocade ( Switch Type, FOS Release ? ) and CWDM ( Model Manuf. ? )

Are both Switch Local and Remote correct configured ? i.e. Domain ID.

If yes, is the Fabric formed, with other word, is Switch_Local and Switch_Remote visible in the Fabric ?

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
felipon

Hi,

A diagram with environment would help us to understand the issue. Please, execute the commands 'fabricshow', 'islshow', 'switchshow', to show what is the switchs currently seeing.

Occasional Contributor
dghosh

Hi TechHelp24 and Felipon

Thanks a lot for your response.