Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Brocade switch on HP c7000 Blade Enclosure

Brocade.JPG

Hi,

I am new to Brocades so please help me in fixing one issue I am having in my environment. I have a  HP c7000 Blade enclosure which has four Brocade Switch (one of the screenshot from the console attached). All the full height blade servers in Enclosure have four HBAs and each of the HBA interconnects to four Brocade switches internally. On the HP Onboard Admin, I can see HBAs have logged on to the Brocade switch and connection is green. Problem is with connectivity from the SAN side where Storage Admin can not see the WWNs of HBAs. He can only see the WWN of Switch (Highlighted in screenshot in Blue color). I do not have experience in managing Brocade SAN switches and the guy who configured these have left the organization. Can someone please advise where I can focus to fix this issue pls?

Regards,

V S

Occasional Contributor

Re: Brocade switch on HP c7000 Blade Enclosure

My guess is that you problem lies in not having zoned out the HBA's to the storage arrays.

New Contributor

Thanks,

I thought Storage admin would see WWNs from Storage Arrays before zoning.. but my problem is that Storage admin can not see  HBA wwns from the Storage arrays so how he will do the zoning?

Is there anything I can do on Blade SAN Switch like NPIV enable or disable.. only think I know is that Blade Switches are configured in Access Gateway Mode.

If you anyone could share his experiences, would be highly appreciated.

Regards,

Vikrant

Occasional Contributor

Are the blades already installed with an OS? Or are they gonna be Boot from SAN?

If there's no OS or you haven't entered the HBA BIOS then it is not logged in to the fabric. Which means no visible WWN's to the storage array or in the name server of the main switch to which you access gateway mode san switch is connected to.

WWN's are only visible to the storage array if:

- The HBA('s) are logged in to the fabric