Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Brocade san 24b5 2498 ethernet management port is down

[ Edited ]

Hi, I've got 2 Brocade san 24b5 2498 that were previously configured through Fabric Manager.

Then, we changed their location in rack (just moved some units down) and I've figured out that one of management ports is always down.  It is availiable only through console and works perfect, except I cannot connect through Fabric Manager. I'm not a pro in using CLI, so I'd like to return it back.

What i've tried:

• Reboot 
  • Connect with working patch cord from another switch
  • Tried to reconfigure negotiation speed for network port from console

Nothing mentioned above helped. All suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Brocade Moderator

Re: Brocade san 24b5 2498 ethernet management port is down

Hello,

Does physical layer on the Ethernet port is up?

You can see it with CLI command: mii-tool -vvv

Sample output of CLI command: mii-tool -vvv

eth0: negotiated, link ok

registers for MII PHY 28:

1140 796d 0020 60c1 01e1 c801 000d 2001

4024 0200 3800 0000 0000 0000 0000 3000

0000 0f00 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000

0400 871c 0000 ffff 0000 2378 0000 0000

product info: vendor 00:08:18, model 524 rev 1

basic mode: autonegotiation enabled

basic status: autonegotiation complete, link ok

capabilities: 100baseTx-FD 100baseTx-HD 10baseT-FD 10baseT-HD

advertising: 100baseTx-FD 100baseTx-HD 10baseT-FD 10baseT-HD

If physical layer is up and link ok, make sure both end are connect to AN or Full Duplex, then check if you can ping the IP address of the switch from the first gateway and that gateway in on the same network.