Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2008

Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

I recently purchased two used switches and neither one appears to perform the POST at power up. I've connected the serial cable to two different computers and I get no activity at all. The power light turns a steady green in about 1 to 2 seconds after power up. Any ideas would be appreciated.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

elbert,

do you have the correct Serial Cable ? / and correct Serial config ?

Correct parameter are as follow:

Port: COMx ( x = COM Port Number )

Baud rate: 9600

Data bits: 8

Stop bits: 1

Parity type: none

Flow control type: none

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2008

Re: Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

I'm using a standard comm cable. Is there a special cable? The other settings are correct.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

Used a wired cable, and not a standard cable.

I'am me sure you have the wrong cable.

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

I am also stuck with the same problem , i have newly purchased San siwthces , After powering up the swithch , I see 2 lights on every port ( 1 yello, 1 green )

I suspect my switch should have stuck some where in the Post sequence .. any help is appreciated

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

yellow and green, (in moust case ) indicate the switch is set to Disable.

login trough telnet as "admin" and use the command "switchenable"

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade Silkworm 3200 POST

Starting your own thread is common practice on this board.

If your switches are new, use the supplied serial cable to connect and confirm the device wil not get beyond post.

I doubt thats the case on both your brand new switches and that it will respond to an http(s) request on ip 10.77.77.77

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.