Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
eugene.ryazantsev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

Need help about how to turn on SW-MIB on Brocade 8470

Fabric Operating System Version: 6.3.1_del

B8470:admin> snmpconfig --show mibCapability

SW-MIB: NO

FA-MIB: YES

HA-MIB: YES

FCIP-MIB: YES

ISCSI-MIB: YES

FA-TRAP: YES

   connUnitStatusChange: YES

   connUnitEventTrap: YES

   connUnitSensorStatusChange: YES

   connUnitPortStatusChange: YES

SW-EXTTRAP: YES

HA-TRAP: YES

   fruStatusChanged: YES

   cpStatusChanged: YES

   fruHistoryTrap: YES

FCIP-TRAP: YES

   linkUpTrap: YES

   linkDownTrap: YES

B8470:admin> snmpconfig --set mibCapability
The SNMP Mib/Trap Capability has been set to support

FA-MIB
HA-MIB
FCIP-MIB
ISCSI-MIB
FA-TRAP
   connUnitStatusChange
   connUnitEventTrap
   connUnitSensorStatusChange
   connUnitPortStatusChange
SW-EXTTRAP
HA-TRAP
   fruStatusChanged
   cpStatusChanged
   fruHistoryTrap
FCIP-TRAP
   linkUpTrap
   linkDownTrap
FA-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
HA-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
FCIP-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
ISCSI-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
FA-TRAP (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitStatusChange (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitEventTrap (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitSensorStatusChange (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitPortStatusChange (yes, y, no, n):
SW-EXTTRAP (yes, y, no, n):
HA-TRAP (yes, y, no, n):
   fruStatusChanged (yes, y, no, n):
   cpStatusChanged (yes, y, no, n):
   fruHistoryTrap (yes, y, no, n):
FCIP-TRAP (yes, y, no, n):
   linkUpTrap (yes, y, no, n):
   linkDownTrap (yes, y, no, n):
no change

there is no option to turn it on, also i tried

B8470:admin> snmpmibcapset
Warning: This command is being deprecated. Please use snmpConfig
The SNMP Mib/Trap Capability has been set to support

FA-MIB
HA-MIB
FCIP-MIB
ISCSI-MIB
FA-TRAP
   connUnitStatusChange
   connUnitEventTrap
   connUnitSensorStatusChange
   connUnitPortStatusChange
SW-EXTTRAP
HA-TRAP
   fruStatusChanged
   cpStatusChanged
   fruHistoryTrap
FCIP-TRAP
   linkUpTrap
   linkDownTrap
FA-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
HA-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
FCIP-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
ISCSI-MIB (yes, y, no, n):
FA-TRAP (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitStatusChange (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitEventTrap (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitSensorStatusChange (yes, y, no, n):
   connUnitPortStatusChange (yes, y, no, n):
SW-EXTTRAP (yes, y, no, n):
HA-TRAP (yes, y, no, n):
   fruStatusChanged (yes, y, no, n):
   cpStatusChanged (yes, y, no, n):
   fruHistoryTrap (yes, y, no, n):
FCIP-TRAP (yes, y, no, n):
   linkUpTrap (yes, y, no, n):
   linkDownTrap (yes, y, no, n):
no change

and situation the same

Valued Contributor
felipon
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

Hi,

Please refer to MIB Reference Manual for 6.3.1_del, there should you find info about the supported MIBs in that code release. But according to the outputs pasted, I am afraid that that is not available for that blade switch.

rgds

Regular Contributor
dmercier
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

Hi,

SW-MIB is not available in Access Gateway mode but there's a way (probably unsupported) to enable it. Are you running this mode (ag --modeshow) ?

Regards,

--

david

New Contributor
eugene.ryazantsev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

felipon

B8470:admin> ag --modeshow

Access Gateway mode is enabled.

Valued Contributor
felipon
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

Hi,

I did not find it at Brocade website either, I suppose that since that version has been specially released for IBM bladeswitchs, it should be somewhere at IBM's.

on the other hand, as posted, in AG mode SW-MIB is not available. Probably, if you disable AG mode, this MIB will become active (but that is an important change to made in order to get access to that MIB...)

Kind regards,

Felipon

Regular Contributor
dmercier
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

Ok, that may explain why SW-MIB is not available.

You can validate that by changing mode (ag --modedisable) if possible, be careful switch will be disabled !

In switch mode, run configshow -all | grep mib and provide output

Regards,

--

david

New Contributor
eugene.ryazantsev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

thanks, I'll try    

New Contributor
eugene.ryazantsev
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

thanks to all,

you was right, but switch doesn't work correct (to be honest it doesn't work), I think because of license and it has connection to SAN. But SAN in native mode and SW-MIB is working there.

Regular Contributor
dmercier
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 8470, SW-MIB

It's a good idea to use AG mode on bladecenter, I did not want you to stay in switch mode.

Did you run "configshow -all | grep mib" in switch mode ? If yes provide output, than we can try to enable SW-MIB if you want.

Kind regards,

--

david

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.