Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Hello. I have a question about the FCIP tunnels on Brocade 7500 switches. We have two Brocades conneted via WAN links. Each switch has two Gige ports connected and one FC port connected to replication source and destination. Each gige has one FCIP tunnel configured with a set of source and target IP addresses. Now the IP addresses are set on each gige port. We already have tunnel 0 defined. We want to define one additional tunnel (id 1) on each gige port. My question is, are we still going to use the same source/destination IP addresses for tunnel 1 as defined in tunnel 0.

Thanks .
Moeen

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Hi Moeen

as far as you specify ip addresses to create a tunnel, I don't think you'll be able to use the same ip addresses to create a new one on the same Ge interface.

I tried (under 6.3.2b) :

router:admin> portshow fciptunnel ge0 0

Port: ge0
-------------------------------------------
    Tunnel ID 0
    Tunnel Description Not Configured
    Remote IP Addr 192.168.0.3
    Local IP Addr 192.168.0.2
    Remote WWN Not Configured
    Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:37:e2:e8
    Compression on
    Fastwrite off
    Tape Pipelining off
    Committed Rate 900000 Kbps (0.900000 Gbps)
    SACK on
    Min Retransmit Time 100
    Keepalive Timeout 10
    Max Retransmissions 8
    VC QoS Mapping off
    DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0
    VLAN Tagging Not Configured
    TCP Byte Streaming off
    Status : Active
    Connected Count: 1
    Uptime 17 hours, 28 minutes, 16 seconds

router:admin> portcfg fciptunnel ge0 create 1 192.168.0.3 192.168.0.2 10000
Configuration entry exists on a GigE port

-> you cannot

kind regards,

--

david

Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Thansk David. One other question. The ge port itself has an IP address and in our case the tunnel source address is the same as the one on the ge port. Now if I want to setup tunnel with id 1, I will definitely use a different set of source/dest IP addresses as proven by you. Will this work. And if I setup another tunnel let's say with id 2, i will use another different set of source/dest ip addresses.

Thanks

Moeen

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

It should work, I've tried for you :

router:admin> portshow ipif ge0

Port: ge0
Interface IP Address      NetMask         Effective MTU  Flags
--------------------------------------------------------------
    0     192.168.0.2     255.255.255.0   2348    

router:admin> portcfg ipif ge0 create 10.0.0.2 255.255.255.0 2348
WARNING: You are trying to configure MTU size greater than 1500.
       Please make sure that all devices in your IP
       network can support Max Ethernet Size frames
Operation Succeeded
router:admin> portcfg ipif ge0 create 10.0.1.2 255.255.255.0 2348
WARNING: You are trying to configure MTU size greater than 1500.
       Please make sure that all devices in your IP
       network can support Max Ethernet Size frames
Operation Succeeded

router:admin> portshow ipif ge0

Port: ge0
Interface IP Address      NetMask         Effective MTU  Flags
--------------------------------------------------------------
    0     192.168.0.2     255.255.255.0   2348          
    1     10.0.0.2        255.255.255.0   2348          
    2     10.0.1.2        255.255.255.0   2348          

Flags: U=Up B=Broadcast D=Debug L=Loopback P=Point2Point R=Running
       N=NoArp PR=Promisc M=Multicast S=StaticArp LU=LinkUp

router:admin> portshow fciptunnel ge0 all

Port: ge0

-------------------------------------------

    Tunnel ID 0

    Tunnel Description Not Configured

    Remote IP Addr 192.168.0.3

    Local IP Addr 192.168.0.2

    Remote WWN Not Configured

    Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:37:e2:e8

    Compression on

    Fastwrite off

    Tape Pipelining off

    Committed Rate 900000 Kbps (0.900000 Gbps)

    SACK on

    Min Retransmit Time 100

    Keepalive Timeout 10

    Max Retransmissions 8

    VC QoS Mapping off

    DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0

    VLAN Tagging Not Configured

    TCP Byte Streaming off

    Status : Active

    Connected Count: 1

    Uptime 1 day, 23 hours, 44 minutes, 45 seconds

router:admin> portcfg fciptunnel ge0 create 1 10.0.0.3 10.0.0.2 10000

Operation Succeeded

router:admin> portcfg fciptunnel ge0 create 2 10.0.1.3 10.0.1.2 10000

Operation Succeeded

router:admin> portshow fciptunnel ge0 all

Port: ge0

-------------------------------------------

    Tunnel ID 0

    Tunnel Description Not Configured

    Remote IP Addr 192.168.0.3

    Local IP Addr 192.168.0.2

    Remote WWN Not Configured

    Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:37:e2:e8

    Compression on

    Fastwrite off

    Tape Pipelining off

    Committed Rate 900000 Kbps (0.900000 Gbps)

    SACK on

    Min Retransmit Time 100

    Keepalive Timeout 10

    Max Retransmissions 8

    VC QoS Mapping off

    DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0

    VLAN Tagging Not Configured

    TCP Byte Streaming off

    Status : Active

    Connected Count: 1

    Uptime 1 day, 23 hours, 46 minutes, 16 seconds

-------------------------------------------

    Tunnel ID 1

    Tunnel Description Not Configured

    Remote IP Addr 10.0.0.3

    Local IP Addr 10.0.0.2

    Remote WWN Not Configured

    Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:37:e2:e8

    Compression off

    Fastwrite off

    Tape Pipelining off

    Committed Rate 10000 Kbps (0.010000 Gbps)

    SACK on

    Min Retransmit Time 100

    Keepalive Timeout 10

    Max Retransmissions 8

    VC QoS Mapping off

    DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0

    VLAN Tagging Not Configured

    TCP Byte Streaming off

    Status : Inactive

    Connected Count: 0

-------------------------------------------

    Tunnel ID 2

    Tunnel Description Not Configured

    Remote IP Addr 10.0.1.3

    Local IP Addr 10.0.1.2

    Remote WWN Not Configured

    Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:37:e2:e8

    Compression off

    Fastwrite off

    Tape Pipelining off

    Committed Rate 10000 Kbps (0.010000 Gbps)

    SACK on

    Min Retransmit Time 100

    Keepalive Timeout 10

    Max Retransmissions 8

    VC QoS Mapping off

    DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0

    VLAN Tagging Not Configured

    TCP Byte Streaming off

    Status : Inactive

    Connected Count: 0

Don't forget all commited rates added together for tunnels defined on the same ge port cannot exceed physical port capacity (= 1Gbps)

Hope this helps

Kind regards,

--

david

Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

David,

        You just solved my whole problem. This is exactly what I want to do. Fortunately for me, you have the ability to test it. I on the other hand can't play with the switches as they are production switches.  I understand the commited bit rate issue.

Thanks

Moeen

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-15-2012

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Hi David,

I saw your answers to queries of Khan.

I am also configuring FCIP tunnel between the two switches.  I am able to make the tunnel and ping from either side as well. But to all my efforts its not coming up.

Can you help in that ?

DC's configuration :-

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GGN_7500B_FCIP2:admin> portshow ipif ge0

Port: ge0
Interface IP Address      NetMask         Effective MTU   Flags
--------------------------------------------------------------
     0     172.18.152.33   255.255.254.0   1500

Flags: U=Up B=Broadcast D=Debug L=Loopback P=Point2Point R=Running
        N=NoArp PR=Promisc M=Multicast S=StaticArp LU=LinkUp
GGN_7500B_FCIP2:admin>  portshow iproute ge0

Port: ge0
IP Address      Mask            Gateway        Metric    Flags
-------------------------------------------------------------
172.18.152.0     255.255.254.0   172.18.152.33    0      Interface
172.19.24.33     255.255.255.255 172.18.152.1     0

GGN_7500B_FCIP2:admin>

GGN_7500B_FCIP2:admin> portshow fciptunnel all

Port: ge0
-------------------------------------------
        Tunnel ID 0
        Tunnel Description Not Configured
        Remote IP Addr 172.19.24.33
        Local IP Addr 172.18.152.33
        Remote WWN Not Configured
        Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:53:be:fb
        Compression off
        Fastwrite off
        Tape Pipelining off
        Committed Rate 100000 Kbps (0.100000 Gbps)
        SACK on
        Min Retransmit Time 100
        Keepalive Timeout 10
        Max Retransmissions 8
        VC QoS Mapping off
        DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0
        VLAN Tagging Not Configured
        TCP Byte Streaming off
        Status : Inactive
        Connected Count: 0


Port: ge1

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DC's configuration :-

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BLR_FCIP2:admin> portshow ipif ge0

Port: ge0
Interface IP Address      NetMask         Effective MTU  Flags
--------------------------------------------------------------
    0     172.19.24.33    255.255.254.0   1500

Flags: U=Up B=Broadcast D=Debug L=Loopback P=Point2Point R=Running
       N=NoArp PR=Promisc M=Multicast S=StaticArp LU=LinkUp
BLR_FCIP2:admin> portshow iproute ge0

Port: ge0
IP Address      Mask            Gateway        Metric   Flags
-------------------------------------------------------------
172.19.24.0     255.255.254.0   172.19.24.33     0      Interface
172.18.152.33   255.255.255.255 172.19.24.3      0

BLR_FCIP2:admin> portshow fciptunnel all

Port: ge0
-------------------------------------------
        Tunnel ID 0
        Tunnel Description Not Configured
        Remote IP Addr 172.18.152.33
        Local IP Addr 172.19.24.33
        Remote WWN Not Configured
        Local WWN 10:00:00:05:1e:54:11:7b
        Compression off
        Fastwrite off
        Tape Pipelining off
        Committed Rate 100000 Kbps (0.100000 Gbps)
        SACK on
        Min Retransmit Time 100
        Keepalive Timeout 10
        Max Retransmissions 8

        VC QoS Mapping off
        DSCP Marking (Control): 0, DSCP Marking (Data): 0
        VLAN Tagging Not Configured
        TCP Byte Streaming off
        Status : Inactive
        Connected Count: 0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Request you to please provide your suggestions.

Thanks

Harmeet

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Hi  Harmeet,

I would try first to use same subnet for ip interfaces on both sides, unless not possible.

Btw, you said you were able to ping from either side ... thus I suspect it's not an ip configuration issue. Could you provide switchshow and portshow fciptunnel all on both side ?

Kind regards,

--

david

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-15-2012

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Hi David,

let me brief you why we are using such configuration. We have following structure

SANSwitch--->LAN switch----->Riverbed (for compression)---->core switch---->Router========(WAN link (STM link up))==========Router---->core switch----->Riverbed (for compression)------>LAN switch----->SANSwitch.

Also, we are able to ping through STM link which is of 465 kbps.

I am attaching outputs as you required.

Looking forward to your response.

Thanks and regards

Harmeet Singh

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-15-2012

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Hi David,

PFB traceroute output.

Traceroute from DC to DR:-
--------------------------
GGN_7500B_FCIP2:admin> portcmd --traceroute ge0 -s 172.18.152.33 -d 172.19.24.33
Traceroute to 172.19.24.33 from IP interface 172.18.152.33 on 0/ge0, 30 hops max
1  172.18.152.3  1 ms  0 ms  0 ms
2  172.18.120.202  1 ms  0 ms  0 ms
3  10.240.33.109  37 ms  38 ms  37 ms
4  172.19.26.2  39 ms  38 ms  40 ms
5  *  *  *
6  *  *  *
7  *  *  *
8  *  *  *
9  *  *  *
10  *  *  *
11  172.19.24.33  39 ms  40 ms  39 ms
Traceroute complete.


Traceroute from DR to DC:-
--------------------------
BLR_FCIP2:admin> portcmd --traceroute ge0 -s 172.19.24.33 -d 172.18.152.33
Traceroute to 172.18.152.33 from IP interface 172.19.24.33 on 0/ge0, 30 hops max
1  172.19.24.3  7 ms  5 ms  4 ms
2  172.19.8.17  3 ms  5 ms  6 ms
3  172.19.8.53  1 ms  0 ms  0 ms
4  10.240.33.110  41 ms  43 ms  42 ms
5  172.18.120.205  42 ms  40 ms  40 ms
6  *  *  *
7  *  *  *
8  *  *  *
9  *  *  *
10  *  *  *
11  172.18.152.33  37 ms  38 ms  37 ms
Traceroute complete.

Thanks and regards

Harmeet Singh

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Brocade 7500 FCIP tunnel question

Harmeet,

in attachment you are using 'ping' cli to test connectivity of fcip interfaces ... I'm not sure it's the right way, or there may be confusion between fcip interfaces and admin (eth0) interface, used by ping.

Could you try to use portcmd --ping ge0 to validate communication via ge0 from both side ?

Are you using the same subnet for admin and FCIP interface (provide ipaddrshow) ?

Kind regards,

--

david

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.