Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-22-2010

Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

Hi,

I get the following error when upgrading Broacde 4900 switch:

BTL_FCA_COR:admin> firmwaredownload
Server Name or IP Address: 10.160.41.173
FTP User Name: ponnappa
File Name: /home/ponnappa/v5.3.1a
FTP Password:
Verifying the input parameters ...
Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
: command not found
: not a signal specification
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
'tmp/preinst: line 176: syntax error near unexpected token `otherhost(){
'tmp/preinst: line 176: `otherhost(){

The current firmware is :

Kernel:     2.4.19
Fabric OS:  v5.2.0a
Made on:    Thu Oct 5 21:12:22 2006
Flash:      Tue Mar 13 11:17:12 2007
BootProm:   4.5.3

Any help i smuch appreciated.

Rgds,

Ponnappa

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

FTP must in the same IP range as the switch.

the FTP server must be pointed to: /home/ponnappa

the correct file name in order to start a upgrade procedure is: /v5.3.1a/release.plist

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

Hi, If you are using widows version then type file name through \ slash. Also pls check FTP server is properly accessible. If you will face issue. connect the console cable and do it from laptop

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-22-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

Thanks to ABBA and Hemant replies.

Heres what I did.

1. FTP server does not have to be in the same subnet as the switch. It just needs to be accessible over lan without a firewall.

2. I copied the firmware folder to my home directory ;ie;/home/ponnappa/v5.3.1a. By default FTP directory point to my home directory upon my login.

3. BTL_FCA_COR:admin> firmwaredownload
     Server Name or IP Address: 10.160.41.173
     FTP User Name: ponnappa
     File Name: v5.3.1a
     FTP Password:
     Verifying the input parameters ...
     Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
     You can run firmwaredownloadstatus to get the status
     of this command.

     .

     .

     .

     .

     ....and finally the installation completed successfully.

Rgds,

Ponnappa

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.