Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2010

Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

We've recently started putting our Brocade SAN switches into Solarwinds for monitoring and alerts.  A majority of our switches are 4900's with a couple 200e's and 4100's.  We are running FOS v6.1.0c. 

I noticed that the word SHUTDOWN for Port Status is used whether if the port is administrativly disabled and if it is down because of an issue or the host is offline.  Does anyone know of a way to differentiate the two so I do not get false alarms?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

I don't know what Solarwinds uses as OID to indicate port states.

But I use swFCportTable (found at .1.3.6.1.4.1.1588.2.1.1.1.6.2) and futher.

You'll get a value for states and or status with stands for online; offline; testing, faulty and such.

I've looked at .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2 which is the default for interfaces (usually ethernet) and couldn't find SHUTDOWN decription.

Looks to me Solarwinds uses a hardcoded description when something goes down??

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

I appreciate the response.  I'm guessing that next I will need to find out where those values live within swFCportTable and how Solarwinds can read them.

The following is an example of how Solarwinds reports status of these ports.  In the first one, the port is still enabled but the cable is removed.  The second one is administratively shutdown (disabled).  There is no difference I can tell.  

Shutdown Port 0/11 · FC port  0/11        http://solarwinds/Orion/NetPerfMon/CustomChart.aspx?ChartName=AvgUtil-Step&NetObject=I:9556    http://solarwinds/Orion/NetPerfMon/CustomChart.aspx?ChartName=AvgUtil-Step&NetObject=I:9556     Shutdown Port 0/12 · FC port  0/12        http://solarwinds/Orion/NetPerfMon/CustomChart.aspx?ChartName=AvgUtil-Step&NetObject=I:9557    http://solarwinds/Orion/NetPerfMon/CustomChart.aspx?ChartName=AvgUtil-Step&NetObject=I:9557 

Again, thanks for the reponse. 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

Get yourselve an mibbrowser like iReasoning (I use http://ireasoning.com/mibbrowser.shtml)

and the mib files for your FOS from http://community.brocade.com/docs/DOC-1733

Load the mib sw_v5_6.mib

Look for .1.3.6.1.4.1.1588.2.1.1.1.6.2 (swFCPortTable) and beyond for port related counters and status.

Only difference I can see is an ID in the links (probably an eventid or based on portindex??).

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

Looking at the demo and browsing around on the thwack community, it looks like you got the Cisco FC template loaded/used for your Brocade switches.

Cisco does know a shutdown status (as per the demo).

Thwack has brocade templates but you'll have to register. I haven't done soo. Another possibility is for you to create your own templates.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

There are no templates for the interface polling. I can't switch from a "Cisco FC" to a "Brocade FC" template because there are no templates for this functionality.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-02-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 & Solarwinds Monitoring

Solarwinds uses the standard IF-MIB ifTable (OID: 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2) for polling of all interfaces. According to the MIB, the ifAdminStatus OID is 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.7 and the ifOperStatus OID is 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.8.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.