Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-06-2010

Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

Hi,

I have a booting problem with a FC Switch. It doesn't come up again after powered off. When connecting to console port the booting process loops this action again and again:

The system is coming up, please wait...
Read board ID of 0x88 from addr 0x23
Read extended model ID of 0x1d from addr 0x22
Matched board/model ID to platform index 8

Read board ID of 0x88 from addr 0x23
Read extended model ID of 0x1d from addr 0x22
Matched board/model ID to platform index 11
Checking system RAM - press any key to stop test

Checking memory address: 00100000

System RAM test using Default POST RAM Test succeeded.

Press escape within 4 seconds to enter boot interface.
Booting "Fabric Operating System" image.
Read map file failedd
Resetting ATA controller.
Read map file failedd
Resetting ATA controller.
Retry reading the first kernel image
Resetting ATA controller.
Retry reading the first kernel image
ATA()0xae130's entry point is too small (0x00003DB8 < 0x00100000)
Booting "Fabric Operating System" image.
Resetting ATA controller.
Read map file failedd
Resetting ATA controller.
Read map file failedd
Resetting ATA controller.
ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x00000000)
ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x00000000)
ATA()0x3803f's entry point is too small (0x00000000 < 0x00100000)
OSLoader contains no bootable devices.
                                      ÿ

The system is coming up, please wait...

When pressing ESC within those 4 seconds, selecting the command prompt and executing "printenv" this appears:

> printenv
AutoLoad=yes
ENET_MAC=00051E05D9EA
InitTest=MEM()
LoadIdentifiers=Fabric Operating System;Fabric Operating System
OSLoadOptions=quiet;quiet
OSLoader=ATA()0xae130;ATA()0x3803f
OSRootPartition=hda2;hda1
SkipWatchdog=yes

What can I do to get that switch booting again?

Thanks in advance.

Regards

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

--->>>OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

CF is defective.

--->>>What can I do to get that switch booting again?

Unfortunately nothing, you have to replace the switch.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-06-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

Hi TechHelp24,

where do you see that CF (btw what is CF?) is defective? What about your post in this discussion? http://community.brocade.com/message/4839#4839 Here you advise something else. I just want to understand your opinion.

Regards.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

See Pic

4900 Board.jpg

The other Thread refer to damaged Boot Image, the switch is Booting now but stop because as mentioned the FOS was defective.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-06-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

Hi TechHelp24,

Ok, many thanks for the picture and the definition of a CF. Just didn't got how you know now the CF is defective. Can you read that out of some lines of the switch's booting lines?

Regards.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

You can test follow:

1) Restart the switch, Power Off / Power ON

2) Press ESC between 4 Second

3) Select 3

4 with the command "setenv" edit the line OSLoader=ATA()0xae130;ATA()0x3803f

and force set the Second Boot Partition ATA()0x3803f Partition as First Boot Point

see examle below

as setenv OSLoader=ATA()0x3803f;ATA()0xae130

5) save the config with "saveenv"

and reboot

what happened ?

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,788
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

--->>>Just didn't got how you know now the CF is defective. Can you read that out of some lines of the switch's booting lines?

ATA()0xae130's entry point is too small (0x00003DB8 < 0x00100000)
Booting "Fabric Operating System" image.
Resetting ATA controller.
Read map file failedd
Resetting ATA controller.
Read map file failedd
Resetting ATA controller.
ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x00000000)
ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x00000000)
ATA()0x3803f's entry point is too small (0x00000000 < 0x00100000)
OSLoader contains no bootable devices.
                                      ÿ

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-06-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 Switch - OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

Hi,

your advise as described didn't bring the switch back booting normally. You're right. I tried it. Thanks for the support.

Regards.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.