Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Brocade 48000 - RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000 after Upgrade

I just updated our 2 Brocade 48000's from V5.3.2 to 6.0.0,6.2.1 and we're now at v6.2.2f.  Each 4800 has an old model 3200 running v3.2.1 connected by an ISL.

Both 48000's are reporting messages about the 3200s:  RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000.  In this case, Domain 7 is the 3200. However, a fabricshow reports the 3200's as being present in the fabric.   The name server table lists the 3200's and the devices connected to them.  I can see traffic moving through the ISL ports to the 3200's and the attached hosts are happy.  

Any ideas ?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Brocade 48000 - RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000 after Upgrade

Hi,

it may be a compatibility issue due to the old FOS version in the 3200 switch.

Can you modify the active zoneset?

execute the command 'dom' (root credentials required) in the 3 switchs to see if they all correctly detect the others.

There is a similar issue reported in the community: http://community.brocade.com/message/5973

rgds

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Brocade 48000 - RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000 after Upgrade

Thanks.

I looked at other message threads where this issue was reported, but in all cases, it seemed like the switch being reported in the warning message wasn't part of the fabric.  In this case, the switch is working OK and is part of the fabric.

No - i haven't tried to modify the active zone set yet.  You think it might fail if I try ?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,810
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 - RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000 after Upgrade

Palmerr,

before you proceed with all Thousands or Theory, should first at all check switch parameters with command "configure"

i.e. old FOS like 3.x required that PID is correct set.

In most case RTWR Error message stay indicated the Switch cannot or not get correct response from ISL parent Switch, due Port Incompatibility setting or as mentioned wrong settings in Switch Parameters.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Brocade 48000 - RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000 after Upgrade

I tried to log in to the 3200 switches, and the following message keeps appearing during my session:

Exchange table overflowExch Usage too high: 99

What does this mean ?

Thanks

External Moderator
Posts: 4,810
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 - RTWR retry 92 to domain 7, iu_data 31000000 after Upgrade

palmerr,

such error message can caused as many reason, i.e. exceeded config DB, R_RDY flow controls, DB Conflict between the switch are in ISL, and much more.

try follow, disconnect/unplugg the ISL and try to login trough telnet.

If necessary reboot the switch and try again. check as mention in preview post with "configure" command if all switch parameters are set correct.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.