Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-16-2012

Brocade 4100 slow console response

Hi,

My company bought a secondhand Brocade 4100 switch. Now i try to set it so i can connect a EMC CX500 system but I have trouble setting up the switch.

After connecting a serial cable from the switch to the management laptop there is a verry slow response. In first nothing appears on the screen(using putty), but after tapping the "enter" key several times the login line appears on the screen. When i try to type the username I need to tap the several key's repeatedly until the are registerd.

Does anyone know what the problem is and how i can solve this? I tried several cables and different connection settings.

With kind regards,

Bart Kruiger

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

Did you use

Parameter  
Value
Bits per second9600
Databits8
ParityNone
Stop bits1
Flow controlNone

?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-16-2012

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

Yes, i tried those settings. I also tried several other speeds in combination with all parity and flowcontrol options.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

the serial details are those dion posted.

A reboot is always helpul in these situations...

can't you access via IP?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-16-2012

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

I also can not reach the switch using IP.

It is also a secondhand switch, and i dont know the configuration.

The last owner doesnt know either....

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

you can try to reboot the switch connected via serial in case you get any kind of useful info about the IP details.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

If the switch is not in Productive environemnt, i would you try to reset to Factory Default.

NOTE: before you do that, save all License from "licenseshow" output.

btw, can you post here "errshow" output please ?

--->>> I also can not reach the switch using IP.

check if any ipfilter parameters as be set or change, for details refer "ipfilter" command in CLI Guide

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-16-2012

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

I can not login. Sometimes a key gets recognized at the first hit, sometimes after tapping the key several times. This is not a problem for the username, as you can see the character on the screen, but the problem is the password. As you don't see the password i don't know if the keystroke is recognized.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

then try to reboot and see if you get any kind of useful info during boot process. You could attach to the post, the boot process output in case you see something interesting...

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4100 slow console response

that really nice new.

you opened the threads as "...slow console response"

those understood by me, you can login but have slow connection.

now you post, --->>> "I can not login."

maybe, if you are not able to explain the problem take a PIC from you mobile phone cam and post here.

My question is follow:

Are you able to do a Login or no ?

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.