Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

hi,

I have an existing fabric with two Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2) I want to add a new Brocade 300 but when i link together show this error

brocade 300 (FOS v7.0.0a)

B300:admin> switchshow

switchName:     B300

switchType:     71.2

switchState:    Online

switchMode:     Native

switchRole:     Principal

switchDomain:   5

switchId:       fffc05

switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:33:69:c8:b5

AD Feature:     Active

Current AD:     0

zoning:         OFF

switchBeacon:   OFF

Index Port Address Media Speed State     Proto

==============================================

   0   0   050000   id     N8   No_Light    FC

   1   1   050100   id     N4   Online      FC  E-Port  segmented,(zone conflict)(Trunk master)

**************************************************************************************************************************************

HP 4/24 (FOS v6.2.0b) 

SWHP:admin> switchshow

switchName:     SWHP

switchType:     43.2

switchState:    Online

switchMode:     Native

switchRole:     Subordinate

switchDomain:   2

switchId:       fffc02

switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:06:3a:d3

zoning:         ON (FABRIC_TEST)

switchBeacon:   OFF

Area Port Media Speed State     Proto

=====================================

21  21   id    N4   Online           E-Port  segmented,(zone conflict)(Trunk master)

before I try to merge I :

disable  B300 switchdisable

clearcfg

configure (Domain ID 1 in this way fabric assign new Domain ID 5)

switchenable

I upgrade FOS in SWHP in the other switch to v6.2.2e and nothing change

thanks in advance for any hints

regards

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

The zoning config on both switches do not match.

That could point to

-effective config is different between the two

-defzone is set to no access while no zoning is ineffect.

-names of object are used differently in both configs

-or content and or order of oject is different.

My guess atm is defzone troubles.

Could you do a defzone --show on the B300?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

on B300

defzone --show

Default Zone Access Mode of AD0

          committed - No Access

          transaction - No Transaction

on HP 4/24

defzone --show

Default Zone Access Mode

          committed - All Access

          transaction - No Transaction

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

A noaccess defzone has hidden zones and aliases.

Nothing fancy just a dummy alias an dummy zone which are in affect to exclude the rest of the world.

But even that hidden config will induce an zoning conflict if you try to merge.

Can you execute a defzone --allaccess on the B300 en try your merge again?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

actually I try and show me this message

defzone --allaccess

Operation allowed only in AD0 context adn if no ADs are configured

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

So questions are

-are you in using AD's? > ad--show

-and are you in AD0 context? > ad --select 0

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

And to add to that, wheter you intend to use AD's or not read the fosadmin guide on this subject. It can aid you to configure (or deactivate) AD to way you want or need it.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

ad --show
Current AD Number: 0  AD Name: AD0

Effective configuration:
------------------------

AD Number:   0  AD Name: AD0    State: Active

        Switch port members:            12,0; 12,1; 12,2;

after publish this I also try with the command

ad --show -i

Current AD Number: 0  AD Name: AD0

Effective configuration:

------------------------

AD: 0 :         AD0     Active

        Switch port members:            5,23; 5,22; 5,21; 5,20; 5,19;

                                        5,18; 5,17; 5,16; 5,15; 5,14;

                                        5,13; 5,12; 5,11; 5,10; 5,9;

                                        5,8; 5,7; 5,6; 5,5; 5,4; 5,3;

                                        5,2; 5,1; 5,0;

now I see that the correct domain ID ( 5) is displayed to reference switch ports members, why in the other way is displayed 12 instead 5 ??

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

OK I haven't worked that much with active AD's but


AD Number:   0  AD Name: AD0    State: Active

         Switch port members:            12,0; 12,1; 12,2;

Looks like AD0 has port 0 thru 2 from domain 12 as members.

Wether this is correct I do not know. Do or did you have an switch with DiD 12?

At least it shows the default AD0 and no others.

You could try a

switch:admin> ad --select AD0
switch:admin> defzone --allaccess
switch:admin> cfgsave

And them try to merge you B300 into your existing fabric.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: Brocade 300 not merge fabric with Brocade 4/24 SAN Switch for HP c-Class (type 43.2)

before be able to do defzones --allaccess first I should go and clear all existing configuration on AD0, after this with defzones and other stuffs the 300 merge thks X everthing

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.