Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Basic Switch Replacement Questions

I'm in the midst of updating our SAN to replace really old switches and get the FOS levels up to date.

We have 2 redundant fabrics.  Output from 'fabricshow" below (without actual names & IP addresses)

Switch ID   Worldwide Name       Name

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

  3: fffc03 10:00:00:60:69:90:60:e5      "3900 - Fabric  #2" - FOS 5.3.2c

  7: fffc07 10:00:00:60:69:c0:bc:fe       "3200 - Fabric  #2"  - FOS 3.2.1

97: fffc61 10:00:00:05:1e:36:0b:18    >"48000 - Fabric #2" - FOS 6.2.2f

Switch ID   Worldwide Name       Name

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

10: fffc0a 10:00:00:60:69:c0:15:f0      "3200 - Fabric  #1"  - FOS 3.2.1

43: fffc2b 10:00:00:60:69:90:6c:8a     "3900 - Fabric  #1" - FOS 5.3.2c

96: fffc60 10:00:00:05:1e:36:08:c6   >"48000 - Fabric #1" - FOS 6.2.2f


I'm replacing the 2 3200's with 200E switches running FOS 6.2.2e.  I'd like to verify the procedure for the 3200 --> 200E replacement.

The 200E's have WWNs of:

10:00:00:05:1e:02:3a:cf

10:00:00:05:1e:5c:59:e6

I gave each the same domain ID (7 and 10) of the 3200 switch that it's replacing, and made sure that there is NO zone config on the 200E's.  I plan to just unplug the F/C cables (with the ISL link first) from each 3200 and move them to the 200E - one fabric at a time.

My questions:

- How do I make sure that the 48000 maintains it's role as the principal, and the 200E changes from principal to subordinate ?  Should I force the 48000's to keep their role as principal via the fabricprincipal command ?

- Should the switches be already powered up when the ISL is moved from the 3200, or is it better to have the ISL plugged in with the switch off, and power it up with the ISL plugged in ?

- When the 200E joins the fabric, will the current active zone config be pushed out to the 200E ?

- Am I overlooking anything else ?  Anything else that might keep the 200Es from joining the fabric successfully ?  Most important is that this change not have any impact on the devices connected to the 48000s

Once the 3200s are gone, the 3900s will be next to go !

thanks

Contributor
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-12-2009

Re: Basic Switch Replacement Questions

palmerr

Sounds like a fun project.

- How do I make sure that the 48000 maintains it's role as the principal, and the 200E changes from principal to subordinate ?

Once a switch is principal it will not lose it's principal role unless it is somehow removed / segmented from the fabric. You shouldn't have to run any commands to enforce this. The fabricprincipal command is correct for this usage if you still want to have it just in case.

Should I force the 48000's to keep their role as principal via the fabricprincipal command ?

If the 48000 is currently the principal it should not lose it's role during this fabric change.

- Should the switches be already powered up when the ISL is moved from the 3200, or is it better to have the ISL plugged in with the switch off, and power it up with the ISL plugged in ?

Have the switch powered up but persistently disable the ports used for ISL's. This way you can swing your ISL cables over, make sure they're connected correctly then persistently enable the ISL ports.

- When the 200E joins the fabric, will the current active zone config be pushed out to the 200E ?

Assuming what you said about no zoning on the 200e  today..yes the 200e will learn the zoning db from the fabric when the ISL's are brought online.

- Am I overlooking anything else ?  Anything else that might keep the 200Es from joining the fabric successfully ?  Most important is that this change not have any impact on the devices connected to the 48000s

This depends on what OS and devices you have in the network. If you have HPUX or AIX hosts AND their storage is on the 3200 switch and it's moved to the 200e switch you will have to re-do their controller target path bindings. The 3200 switch most likely has the legacy PID mode configuration. When you change the PID for the targets these OS need to have their target path settings updated.

Once the 3200s are gone, the 3900s will be next to go !

Great idea!

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Basic Switch Replacement Questions

The 3200 switch most likely has the legacy PID mode configuration. When you change the PID for the targets these OS need to have their target path settings updated.


Thank you for the reply.  I checked the switches involved (48000, 3200,200E), and all look like this:

switch:admin> configshow | grep -i pid

fabric.ops.mode.pidFormat:1

So I should be good.

Thanks again.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.